Disclosure: TheBestVPN is reader-supported. When you buy a VPN through links on our site, we may earn commissions. Learn more.

Windscribe VPN Review

Rob Mardisalu

Rob Mardisalu · Read user reviews

Is Windscribe as “private” as they promise? Below is our Windscribe review…

Windscribe VPN review
Is it really as “private” as promised?

Canadian Windscribe is a good alternative for U.S. based VPN providers or for someone who wants to use their free VPN plan that comes with 10GB session bandwidth (per month).

Their server network performance isn’t fast as ExpressVPN or NordVPN, but they do offer industry standard OpenVPN tunneling protocol with 256-bit AES encryption.

Despite being relatively new VPN service, their Chrome extension, which provides free proxy access to users, has already been used by over 900,000 people.

Here’s everything we liked, disliked, and outright hated.

Windscribe Pros

Windscribe has excellent device compatibility. Their encryption and protocol options are strong. The app was very user-friendly. Torrenting allowed (albeit, slightly limited).

And their Netflix-specific servers worked brilliantly.

Here’s what we loved about their service.

1. Strong Privacy & Encryption Features

Windscribe supports the best VPN protocols known to man (and women), including OpenVPN, IKEv2, TCP, UDP, and SOCKS5 protocols.

Curiously, the IKEv2 protocol is used by default, despite OpenVPN being the industry standard. (So you might want to make a mental note to switch back over ASAP when you start using it.)

The reasoning is because you’ll get access to best-in-class AES-256 cipher encryption (with SHA512 auth and a 4096-bit RSA key) for their desktop apps, and AES_128_GCM cipher for their browser extensions. These technical details will have security professionals salivating.

If you’re not a security professional, just realize that these basically mean “really f-ing secure.”

No known hacks have occurred at either end of this encryption spectrum.

But let’s not stop there.

Because all of the encryption in the world won’t protect you from the very VPN service you’re using. Many of the shady ones log your data. Or they use it to sell to the highest advertising bidder.

That’s not acceptable here.

So to verify, we dug through the snooze-worthy details and discovered that Windscribe does not keep any logs.

WindScribe logging policy
No logs are being kept

They do collect a few details.

This includes about a month’s worth of bandwidth to keep free users in check. Otherwise, they will also keep your OpenVPN username, server, connection time, and amount of data transferred for about three minutes.

Otherwise, their terms are pretty standard an in-line with the rest of the VPN market. No secrets or fine print that might come back to haunt you in the end.

2. No Leaks, No Viruses = Safe to Use

DNS and WebRTC leaks give users a false sense of security.

You don’t actually know they exist. You have no way of knowing when they occur.

The only way to spot them is to actively check the IP address your client is showing, with the one that each test actually sees.

The two better match.

Because if not, it means that everyone else observing this connection can also see where you’re truly located.

Windscribe’s leak tests show up under the Pros column for a good reason:

No leaks detected across five tests.

WebRTC leak test result:

windscribe webrtc leak test

IP leak test result:

windscribe IP leak test

DNS leak test result:

dns leak test windscribe

Leak test result 5

leak test 5 1

Just to triple check, we also ran their installation files through VirusTotal.com to make sure you weren’t exposing your devices to any other hidden, malicious software.

These tests also came out clean. Three cheers for Windscribe.

Virustotal scan 1

3. Windflix Feature to Bypass Netflix Restrictions

Windscribe’s normal servers won’t work with Netflix (we got zero out of three when testing).

If you have the impression that you can simply connect to any of their US or UK servers and start to use Netflix, you might be disappointed.

windscribe works with Netflix

However, they do have special “Windflix” servers. And here’s where our luck turned around.

Both Windflix servers we tried, including the UK and US ones, worked perfectly.

  • WINDFLIX US (New York – Radiohall)
  • WINDFLIX UK (London – The Tube)

All in all, you can stream Netflix using Windscribe. If you’re using the right, Netflix-compatible Windflix ones.

4. Torrenting is Allowed

A VPN can help safeguard torrenting sessions, creating that impenetrable tunnel around your internet connection to keep you safe.

But a VPN won’t do you any good if it doesn’t work allow restriction-free use.

Some are starting to discourage or ban torrenting to make sure they don’t fall into any issues with DMCA complaints. Others will offer torrenting servers, but only a handful of them at best.

Where does Windscribe fall?

Technically, the allow it. Here’s a statement from their FAQ page regarding torrenting:

Windscribe torrenting policy

They also have tutorials on how to configure the following torrent clients:

  • uTorrent
  • Deluge
  • qBittorrent
  • VUZE

However, not all of their servers support torrenting.

Windscribe torrenting 2 1

This comes down to the individual countries, and their stance on digital copyrights.

So yes, you can use Windscribe to lock-down torrenting sessions. But have a run through their servers, first, to make sure you can find some P2P-friendly ones that are relatively close to you.

5. Supports Multiple Devices Across Most Platforms

This might be one of Windscribe’s best aspects.

They have built-in apps for almost every platform imaginable.

That includes the basics, like Windows, Macs, iOS, and Linux. But it also extends to browsers with Chrome, Firefox, and Opera. Plus, they’ll also throw in a few smart TV apps for Amazon, Nvidia Shield, and Kodi.

Oh, and you can connect unlimited devices, too.

Pretty awesome, right?

They’re also compatible with routers, however, this will involve a few manual steps to go through the standard OpenVPN option as a workaround.

You can also connect gaming consoles through these routers. Otherwise, there are no pre-built options to point, click, and install.

Finally, Windscribe works with TOR but only through the standalone app and not through the VPN’s browser extensions.

6. User-Friendly App

We downloaded Windscribe apps on both Windows and Android devices.

The 14.4MB Windows install file only took about a minute to install. Here’s what the app’s interface looked like upon opening it for the first time:

WindScribe computer interface

Next, we clicked the drop down to cycle through their 124 data centers in 51 countries:

WindScribe computer interface 2

The Dallas server only took around ten seconds to connect. Not bad!

Next up, we installed the 12.30MB Google Play file on an Android and were up-and-running in no time.

WindScribe mobile app

Unfortunately, unlike the computer app, there were a few restrictions.

Their firewall acts as a “kill-switch” feature that you can toggle on or off. It can be found at the bottom of the app.

For example, the mobile app only provided access for up to 56 servers (vs. the 124 we saw earlier). We could no longer select individual cities in the U.S., but instead had to settle for “US Central.” We’ll unravel this odd discrepancy under the Cons section below.

Overall, though, usability was smooth and there were no major issues, lags, or crashes.

 

Windscribe Cons

Windscribe is slow.

Support useless.

And they’re a bit pricey.

Especially when you don’t have access to all of the servers you’re supposed to have access to.

Confused about that last part? Don’t be.

I’ll explain it all over the next few sections.

1. Canadian Jurisdiction Inside Five Eyes

Windscribe is located in Toronto, Canada.

Canada is a founding member of the 5-eyes jurisdiction that dates back to World War II. Not great by itself. But even worse when you consider that this alliance means both the U.S. and UK can get their grubby hands on your personal data.

And Windscribe would have no option but to comply if forced.

The chances are slim, no doubt.

But there is a chance.

So that’s a risk you need to be comfortable living with.

2. Slows Down Your Internet Connection to Less Than 50%

Windscribe’s server performance placed them towards the bottom third of our rankings at 51 (out of 78).

This ranking was the direct result of a combined server score.

First, we take our benchmark reading to see what an unencumbered internet connection looks like. Here was ours:

Speed test without VPN provider

Second, we start connecting to Windscribe servers across the world to get an average reading. Here’s what we found.

Windscribe speed test in EU

U.S. Central Server

  • Ping: 140 ms
  • Download speed: 29.74 Mbps (70% slower)
  • Upload speed: 2.07 Mbps (96% slower)

UK Server

  • Ping: 46 ms
  • Download speed: 17.25 Mbps (82% slower)
  • Upload speed: 4.86 Mbps (91% slower)

EU Server

  • Ping: 92 ms
  • Download speed: 42.97 Mbps (56% slower)
  • Upload speed: 5.12 Mbps (90% slower)

Windscribe’s servers were consistently slow across the board. The upload speeds were especially atrocious, slowing speeds over 90% in each case. We even used a “Premium” account for these speeds!

You shouldn’t have to sacrifice the performance up to 90%. And you don’t have to, either, when there are all-around options like ExpressVPN and Astrill available.

3. Not All Of The 480+ Servers Are Active

Ok. Here’s where the server discrepancy comes back into play.

According to official records, Windscribe has access to 480+ servers in over 50 countries.

Not bad.

It’s nothing compared to the 2,000+ from ExpressVPN, the 3,200+ servers from Private Internet Access, or even the 5,200+ servers from NordVPN.

But a total server network count around ~500 is respectable. It means you should have plenty of options to easily find fast servers at a moment’s notice.

That is if they’re all available.

Which, for some strange reason, isn’t the case with Windscribe’s servers.

Check it out:

No server in New Zealand 1

Huh?

That image is on their website.

It shows New Zealand as a server location. Yet zero out of zero servers are available.

So in reality, you’re only getting access to a fraction of the servers being promoted.

This, in addition to the already-limited number available to mobile devices (vs. desktop), make Windscribe’s server numbers seem unreliable at best, or an outright lie at worst.

4. Questionable Support (Using Bots)

Some VPN companies still live in the Stone Age of customer support.

They only offer FAQs, forums, or ticket-based systems that can take days to get a response.

Windscribe, in comparison, features a chatbot.

Awesome!

Finally, a simple, fast way to get easy questions answered.

We were pretty excited to ask “Garry” about that odd zero server number under New Zealand.

Here was his response:

Garry chatbot response windscribe 1

Um. Ok?

Didn’t really answer our question.

And unfortunately, “Garry” never did. He/they just kept repeating irrelevant answers that didn’t line up exactly with the question we were asking.

Useless.

From there, we had to travel back in time by reaching out through a support ticket.

Ten hours later, we got this response:

Windscribe customer spport test

GARRY! IS THAT U?!

Another automated, irrelevant answer. This time from Arthur, King of the Britons.

Yes, I get the reference. No, it doesn’t make me feel any better. Besides, Windscribe is a Canadian company. So the damn reference doesn’t even make any sense.

Seeing as we’re complete masochists, we sent yet another follow-up question. This one took 20 hours for a response.

Windscribe customer support test 2

Ugh.

Don’t. Even. Bother.

Windscribe VPN Cost, Plans & Payment Methods

windscribe pricing options

Windscribe has three paid plans.

The monthly one falls around the middle of what you’d expect at $9 monthly. Whereas the annual plan offers a massive discount of over 55%+.

The Yearly Plan is $4.08/month and last but not least the “Build a Plan” option costs $1.00 per location used.

Payment options include PayPal, Credit Card, and Bitcoin.

If you’re unhappy for any reason, you can request a refund.

BUT, and this is a big but:

  • You have to request the refund within three days of purchasing a plan
  • And you can’t use more than 10BG of bandwidth during that time

 

WindScribe refunds 1
Windscribe refund policy

This is a pretty terrible refund policy, to be honest.

If you have any doubts, don’t sign up. Instead, go forward with their free option for a little bit before committing. Because once you’ve paid, your money is basically gone.

Just keep in mind that the free option only allows access to 14 server locations and 10BG of data each month.

Also, don’t be naive.

Free VPNs‘ come with their own risks. Lots of them.

So buyer beware.

Do We Recommend Windscribe?

No. I don’t recommend buying it.

Windscribe is a pretty good choice if being Netflix-friendly is at the top of your list.

Their protocols, encryption, and logging policy are also legit. And we loved the platform compatibility.

But there are a lot of other troubling signs we experienced.

Server speeds were consistently slow for starters. And that’s a bad sign if you’re trying to stream Netflix movies. Netflix and Chill would be more like Netflix and I’m going home now.

Then, there were more pressing concerns.

A Toronto homebase doesn’t bode well for keeping your private information private, either.

And customer support was utterly useless. (Come at me Garry.)

Windscribe’s pricing doesn’t do you any favors, either. They’re at the high end of the spectrum, despite not having access to ‘all’ of their servers.

To top it all off, the refund policy is only that in the name. No way you’re getting money back unless you walk an incredibly fine line for 72 hours.

If you want cheap, there are loads of cheaper VPN options out there.

Otherwise, just start at the top of this list and work your way down.

Add your own review:

Have you ever used Windscribe before? If so, what was your experience like? I’m always interested to hear what other enthusiasts have to say about the VPNs that I review! Let me know below.

To keep up the quality content on our website, we only accept user reviews that provide valuable information for our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you want your review to be accepted, please write a helpful, informative and unique review - either positive or negative. Thank you for your support!

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

46 user reviews for Windscribe VPN

Maxim011 1/10 May 27,, 2019

Even worse..

My experience was even worse... While using [their paid version of] Windscribe PRO it crapped on me. "Session expired"!!!! was what their useless PC app said... while my applications were all happily connected over the internet, without any protection.. Torrent client included!!!!!! And I had [their obviously useless] "Kill switch" turned on!!! So beware! [Session expired!!!??? Seriously??? What "session"???] This alone is a great reason not to even think of using their service!!!

Also, if you need Port Forwarding [for Torrenting or running your own servers] you will be either paying some extra dollars a month or having to reset "free" PF after every 24 hours!!! If "Gary" ever tells you how to make it even work at all..

Oh, and didn't someone say it already: "They are soooo slow"???

So just stay away. They are charging you a lot of monies for a poor quality. You have been warned...

NOTE: I don't know were all of this "great" reviews coming from, but be advised that they have a large fan following on Reddit and elsewhere, so I guess if these reviews are not fake, it is some orchestrated group effort...

Roger B 2/10 April 13, 2019

Windscribe has too many issues

I purchased a one-year Windscribe plan but when the company sent verification of my purchase it was only for nine months. Their support (Gerry) is of no use and the only way I was able to get a response from them was when I filed a complaint on them on a national complaint site and it still resulted in no action to correct the problem on their part. I also don't like their blanket emails. They are crass and rude, not to mention the language they use. I feel the company is very unprofessional and dishonest.

Skylamar 10/10 April 06, 2019

Definitely worth the money if you can find a lifetime license

I'm a very happy user of Windscribe. I bought a lifetime license on StackSocial back in 2017 for $50, which I think was a real steal.

I have not noticed the speed issues described in this article. My Internet service is about 110Mbps download and when using Windscribe's "Best Location" server, my download speeds are also about 110Mbps.

I also have found that their customer support is pretty good. I contacted them about a question recently and got a response less than a day later.

I also think their app is easy to use and I have it running on two Macs, and iPhone and an iPad. I had tested a few other VPNs before choosing Windscribe, but I chose Windscribe because their apps are well-designed and easy to use.

Their special servers to access Netflix also work great. I am in the USA and subscribe to Netflix but I've used Windscribe's special Netflix servers to access Netflix Canada and Netflix UK, both of which have some content not available on the USA site.

Overall, I would recommend Windscribe, especially if you can find a good deal on a lifetime license.

Monica 10/10 March 22, 2019

Windscribe is my all time favorite

I've been using Windscribe since it first came out and have never looked back. I've stuck with the vpn as it's always proven to be reliable and provide really strong speeds with each location and sever I connect too. I love the selection of features, and over the years it has continued to upgrade and become an even stronger, safer, and more reliable vpn.

Jeremiah 10/10 March 07, 2019

A big fan of Windscribe

Hi! Windscribe user here, and i've been using it for almost a year now. It's a strong vpn with good speeds and excellent security features, some of the best i've ever come across. Windscribe has some of best servers with a selection of locations to choose from, all which work well. I've had no problem using Windscribe in different countries, and I've successfully been able to download and stream while connected to Windscribe. If you're looking for a reliable vpn that gives you your money's worth, you've found it!

Carlo 10/10 February 5, 2019

Satisfying results

Windscribe has been a great VPN that has provided me with nothing less than satisfactory results. I've enjoyed making the most of the features especially the cookie monster and cruise control which automatically connects you to the best server or the strongest server near you. Security wise, all features seem to be working great. The ad blockers work, there are no trackers following me anymore and I feel a lot safer surfing the net. I would definitely recommend Windscribe to others.

Marko 9/10 January 29, 2019

Windscribe Delivers

Windscribe is brilliant for the following reasons:

- The Windscribe apps for Android, iPhone, Windows as well as Google Chrome really are easy to install and use
- The drop down list of available servers for all countries can be sorted by latency allowing you to easily connect to the fastest server
- The VPN "kill switch" or always on functionality is great as it blocks all non VPN traffic
- The support is good and generally very quick
- VPN is stable and generally consistent
- The Windscribe server for USA Netflix called windflix USA works brilliantly if using Netflix outside of the USA while travelling
- Tests show no IP address or DNS leaking

Carlo 9/10 January 23, 2019

Best VPN to have

I've had better customer service support, but in general, and based on the actual VPN, windscribe is by far the best! Definitely gives you what it says it will. The security features are fantastic and the locations all work like a charm!

Jin 8/10 January 17, 2019

Great value

I've had Windscribe Pro for about a year now. Licenses are super cheap if you can catch one of their legit deals (no, not talking about the hacked/resold eBay stuff). Some servers are flaky but in general, they are fine for browsing use and the occasional download. I wouldn't completely depend on this service for bandwidth-heavy stuff because they are big enough now that 1 voice doesn't really matter.

My biggest beef with Windscribe is that their Korea servers are completely underpowered. There was even a point where they lost the contract, but they got it back soon after. Although.... It didn't really matter, because those Korea servers are still unstable. I like catching the occasional geo-restricted football game but it's hard to see a little white ball traveling from point to point when your speed's bouncing all over 0-8Mbps and the media player pegs you at 144p-240p or the dreaded buffer for 80% of the game. Hence I had to get an account with another VPS service. I could've saved the money I paid for Windscribe Pro had I known their Korea servers would be so flaky all the time. I ran some Speedtests a few days ago, and download speeds were fine at roughly 5Mbps, but upload speeds were jumping all over from 0kbps-0.5Mbps. No wonder videos couldn't play.

Sittie 10/10 January 9, 2019

Lovely features

Good vpn to have if you're on the go a lot, meaning you travel. Great to be able to unblock geo-restricted sites and access Netflix from either you laptop, phone, or ipad. Windscribe also has a lot of great features and security options to help keep you safe when using the net. The servers also offer a nice variety, all which have acceptable speeds.

Putz 10/10 January 2, 2019

Cheap and Good

Well, the reason why I chose windscribe is because they have a "build your own" plan.

And since I only need an unlimited bandwith usage and 1 server, so 2$ is really cheap.

The speed may be not as fast as PIA and ExpressVPN (and yes I was previously using their service), but not slow as snail either.

The price is what really suited me more, if only ExpressVPN or PIA has the same plan, I'm going back to them without a second thought.

Jim 3/10 December 30, 2018

slow VPN

If you intend to watch Netflix or download via torrents, forget using this VPN service. I have 150 Mib download speed from my provider. Using any torrent app with Windscribe and my download speeds rarely make it above 2 Mibs. A lot of the time we're talking below 1.0 Mibs. When talking to customer support about the problem they act like they're confused and pretend that I should be getting higher dl speeds than I am. Also when updating my Linux Mint the dl speed drops down to nothing if I forget to turn off the Windscribe. My subscription is up in May 2019...I'll be shopping around.

Dennis 10/10 December 29, 2018

Best VPN

Reliable,fast,secure and so easy to use, and best of all: Very cheap with amazing payment options! I was actually stunned at the quality of this VPN for this price! I love you guys for making this so affordable!

Windscribe user 10/10 December 29, 2018

Amazing VPN

I can’t praise this vpn enough. I have no idea why you complained about speeds when my regular speed is 200MBPS and with “best location” vpn on it drops to about 150-180MBPS , that’s faster than any other VPN I have ever used. These people deserve a praise, whoever made this VPN they are amazing people, and they are by no means greedy. You can literally pay whatever you can afford and get the full experience.

Your review might have been at a earlier time when it wasn’t as great as today. I am writing this 12/29/2018

Windscribe is absolutely the best VPN and fastest I have ever used. I totally recommend this to everyone!

Dave 10/10 December 17, 2018

Not perfect but worth every cent!

It's not perfect, because nothing is! But it does as close to perfect job as can be. Really happy with the services windscribe provides and would definitely recommend it to other users looking for a vpn they can trust and rely on.

Albert 10/10 December 15, 2018

Port forwarding - finally!

Always been a fan of Windscribe. They're actually building new features that users request. One feature I was hoping for is port forwarding, and they finally released it. Works as advertised, no complaints. Great service.

Arvine 10/10 December 4, 2018

Best for netflix

Works extremely well with Netflix which apart from the usual features, is the main reason I use windscribe. My work takes me across the world so it's nice to have something that helps me keep up to date with my favorite programs!

Izekeil 10/10 November 2, 2018

Accommodating VPN

Great package. Everything I consider I need on a daily basis when it comes to surfing I can find with Windscribe. Great data allowances, and even better services and speeds. I've noticed the update have gotten better meaning the Windscribe team has really looked into providing what their customers need. I've got Windscribe on my mobile and desktop and both work perfectly under the one plan.

Steven 8/10 October 15, 2018

Worth trying out!

Windscribe may have its ups and downs, but so does every other VPN or piece of software. Even Apple's iOS has issues yet people still use it and adore it. Windscribe is just like any other VPN but with higher quality features and a generally better selection of locations and speeds. Any major issues always seem to be seen to when they make an update, and those that do have issues can easily seek help from their customer support. I did once and had a great experience with them helping me out straight away. It's worth the try even on the free plan to see if it's the VPN for you. I started off that way and now decided to invest in the pro plan.

DanDareMush 1/10 October 6, 2018

Ignored

This first comment is for using Windscribe PRO ONLY. Customer service with Windscribe (Garry) along with Gared P and Igor is virtually non existent, and when you do receive a reply it is condescending and mainly nothing to do with the issue some of their customers are experiencing. Now because they have no answer to my own issue I am being ignored despite me sending them messages and pictures. Now for a complete change. Windscribe's FREE service is brilliant, it works well and the speeds are great. I am also aware that others have not been so fortunate with the free service. So for this service I cannot fault it 5 stars from me. And yet, yes, there is always a yet. The PRO service does not work for some reason. Using no alterations whatsoever from the FREE service, I try and use the PRO service to get to one particular website, no issue there, then form that website I have to log into my account to watch "LiveStreaming" for which I have paid £145. However, in order to log in I need the boxes of "Username" and another with "Password" but all I keep getting the same message (see picture enclosed), I cannot get any further than this. I have used 6 different browsers turned of WebRTC turned off anti virus and everything else that I could think of, alas to no avail. I would really appreciate if anyone could assist with my issue as I have scoured the Internet for anyone withf the same issue and tried a lot of things but still no joy. Thanking you in anticipation

Murphy 10/10 September 26, 2018

Fantastic!

Windscribe is my favorite VPN. Their security features are amazing and definitely make you feel safe while surfing the internet. It's a lot better than I originally expected, especially when I first signed up a couple of years ago. It was new back then, and now 2 years + down the line it's only improved and upgraded its services to provide a better experience.

June Cranshaw 10/10 September 10, 2018

Maybe not the best for everyone, but works a charm for me!

Windscribe has been pretty consistent with its positive reviews, I've seen many people happy with the VPN, just like I am, however, I've also noticed a few negative ones. However, windscribe has worked like a charm since I first installed it. I'm very happy with the features they provide and the extra security you get. Locations are good and speeds are pretty reliable and a lot better than other VPN's that charge more! A keeper in my opinion at a very good value,

gggirlgee 9/10 August 30, 2018

Windscribe does it for me

I couldn't disagree with this review more. I've been using Windscribe (paid) for over a year. It's very fast (80-90% of my full speed), very secure and the support is great. I've emailed them as well as submitted tickets and a human gets back to me in less than a day with detailed answers.

They call their kill switch a firewall, so they did answer the reviewer's question. The firewall has several options including killing all traffic when the vpn server disconnects.

They do not keep logs for more than 3 minutes so it is impossible to release your traffic logs by court order. That's pretty secure.

It's important to use their default network settings in the software (UDP and IKEv2 if possible) or you will get slower connections. Only change them if they tell you to. It's also important to use a server close to you. I generally get the same speeds within 500 miles. If you're using a server far away expect slow speeds. However, try various servers if you must connect to another country. (I'm on the US west coast. There are servers a couple miles from my house, but I find the Canada west servers great too. Best location doesn't always connect to the closest, fastest server. Expand the server groups and get specific.)

Cons:

They could randomize the IP addresses of the servers more often. They get blocked by websites and torrent trackers often and I have to hunt around for a server that is not blocked. Also Google search freaks out and asks for captcha verification a lot. Annoying!

The PC software gets wonky and decides to block all internet traffic sometimes. The only solution is a reboot. The automatic firewall setting seems to fight with Windows firewall. It takes some fiddling to get it to work smoothly. (I usually turn the automatic-firewall mode, in preferences, off then on again and it seems to work normally.)

"Best location" never connects me to the server with the lowest ping or highest speed, although it's always a decent server. I suspect it would take too long to connect if the software actually pinged dozens of nearby servers, so this is an acceptable compromise.

My nearest servers never geo-locate to my city even though the ping is less than 15ms (indicating the server is very close.) This is only a problem when I use a website, such as google maps, that uses location to provide services. Annoying but not a big deal.

Colin 9/10 August 29, 2018

Windscribe

Find Windscribe's speeds to be good, have 20/20 DSL and most of the time have 16/16 with vpn and 18/18 without. Did get lifetime deal of around 49$ and their service has been up almost all the time, think it was down maybe two or three hours one time in the last two years. Use their chat line about three times for help, two times they were very helpful, but once did seem like a bot/idiot on line. If I do find speed is slow, I just switch severer and speed is back up.

Ricky 9/10 August 27, 2018

Steady with good maintenance

Windscribe has been a steady VPN that continues to do well. I've noticed they do maintenance checks which provide updates to all their features and services. Great on multiple devices and when connecting to different locations on different devices doesn't seem to slow it down. I did have a few issues when I first started out but customer service soon got it sorted. Overall, I still think Windscribe is better than a lot of VPN's i've tried out, and the overall payment plan is definitely priced fairly.

Pooperinabelle 8/10 August 14, 2018

It's okay

I have been using Windscribe for a while now and speed isn't a major issue most of the time. VPNs do slow down the Internet speed for obvious reasons but I haven't found it to be especially noticeable when I use Windscribe. There are times when it does lag a lot but this usually gets resolved when I switch to another server. While 10GB is enough for light to moderate use, you can get more bandwidth by making a tweet about Windscribe (tried and it works). Though they said you can also get more bandwidth by referring friends, I'm not quite sure how that works because the referral link only directs to an ordinary Windscribe page; there's no referral code or anything to identify the referrer (also tried but doesn't work).

Not a bad review but I would enjoy it more towards the end if you skipped the exaggeration and have all statements be more objective and backed up with evidence and/or comparison. Just to add on, Windscribe uses the IKEv2 protocol by default because it provides faster speed and it switches to OpenVPN as a fallback when IKEv2 fails. Might changing the settings have contributed to the speed issue you experienced? It also doesn't matter if you were using the premium version because there is no speed difference between the premium and free services (which is great news for us free users). By pointing it out, it sounds as if the free version would receive worse speed. As for the point on the refund policy, it's understandable that they do not allow subscribers to use more than 10GB and demand for a refund; it prevents abuse of the policy. But I do think that 3 days with written notice is deliberately made too short and inconvenient especially if the user is situated overseas.

Dal 9/10 August 2, 2018

Keeps you safe

I have used Windscribe for over 2 years now. If you are looking for a good safe VPN this is the one. If you are looking for a VPN to watch BBC and Netflix this is not the VPN for you as it does not unblock these sites. Speed is ok and usable, it has had very little down time and all in all im very happy with it.

Its kill switch works and that is a big plus if one wants to stay safe.

Ben Hopkins 9/10 June 6, 2018

Getting better and better

The recent update have definetly taken care of a few issues Windscribe had been experience. I’ve noticed more consistent speeds and haven’t had any more problems when it comes to downloading.

Samantha Jacques 10/10 May 25, 2018

Excellent VPN

Windscribe is easy to use, reliable, and secure. Pretty much everything you look for in a VPN and more! Great way to have ads and trackers blocked, great selection of countries, and great maintenance. The latest pupdate seems to have work as i’ve found downloading speeds have got even better.

Keith 10/10 May 11, 2018

Great service

Im not sure if the reviewer used the same service I did, but the speeds are GREAT, especially since their last update. I’m getting 100% of my normal speed while connected. It helps to try a few locations as Internet routing is more art than science.

A big chunk of the review id dedicated to “Why NZ is down”, really? Servers go down, it happens. It seems the reviewer tried to make a big deal over nothing. I’ve been using Windscribe for almost a year, and saw location downtime a handful of times, usually for very brief periods.

Mark 10/10 May 10, 2018

A good value that works well for me

I tried several VPN services when my previous VPN subscription was about to expire. These included Torguard, Nord, PrivateVPN, Proxy.sh, VPN.ac, and IbVPN. Actually they all seemed to work well for me and I think I wold be happy with any of them. I didn’t try them all with Netflix but Netflix does work for me on Windscribe. I can’t vouch for Windscribe’s speed because my satellite connection is slow, but it ran as fast on my connection as any of the others.

Windscribe seemed to have one of the better combinations of features, performance and price so I purchased a subscription. Its running without issue on my router, Android phone, Windows and Linux laptops. A solid 8/10 for me. Features like a true server to server double-hop connection (not just VPN to browser extension) and/or providing a TOR connection on a hosted exit node would make them a 10 in my book.

Lorette Leak 10/10 April 29, 2018

Love WindScribe

Love winsdscribe.

Great overall performance so far and I’m now on my 4th month with them. Would recommend upgrading to pro if you’re looking to have unlimited data, plus it does provide more locations to choose from. The features they have are great too and all of them seem to work really well. My personal favouties are being able to unblock US Netflix and geo-restricted sites, very handy when you’re travelling.

Terry 10/10 April 12, 2018

No speed issues anymore

I did have speed issues, however, they were all resolved in the latest version of the app with the new ikev2 protocol. I’m now getting 100% of my ISP’s speed.

Desert Tripper 6/10 March 25, 2018

Decent interface, but so far is slow.

Signed up for “lifetime” access last month, I think it was $55. The interface is nice and I like the firewall feature that blocks traffic until the VPN is connected, but I can’t get more than 50-60kb/s out of any of the sites even though I have a 60mb/s service. I will try the beta client with the ikev2 protocol that Fred mentioned and see if that improves anything.

Leonardo 2/10 March 7, 2018

SLOW!!! No netflix

My main purpose was to use it for NETFLIX, which is not possible, because the speed of the connection is 3mb! so no way it can stream FullHD content, let alone 4k! Forget it if you need to use for this reason.

Corylyn 10/10 March 7, 2018

Very impressed!

Very satisfied with Windscribe and what it offers. They’ve really put a lot of time and thought into producing this VPN provider, and the overall performance definitely shows it was worthwhile. A very reliable provider that has everything you need to surf the internet safely all in one place. Love how you don’t need various other extensions to do other things such as block ads and tracker etc

George 2/10 February 3, 2018

Drops connection way too often

Started out good, but over the last two months, drops connection often, sometimes as often as every 3-5 minutes. Unless you can get it cheap – I paid $12 for a year on Humble Bundle, stick to the free version for now, even though their Netflix US and UK servers work.

Tiffay 10/10 January 28, 2018

Love it!

in love with Windscribe! Love how simple it is to use, yet has so many great features. Surfing the net has never been as safe as it is when using Windscribe. I’m not that bright when it comes to this techincal stuff, but i’ve had a few dodgy experiences over the internet and decided to put some research into finding the best VPN that can give me the safety measures I need. I’ve found everything with Windscribe, all for free too! Highly recommending this VPN, it’s a must-have!

Gianmarco 5/10 January 7, 2018

No netflix, but works

I use the free version and I like it. I can’t use it on netflix but it goes very well for download and streaming. The software is multiplatform (windows, mac, linux), really simple to use and even if it is free it allows you to choose a server.

Robert Sales 9/10 January 6, 2018

Reliable free VPN

I’ve been using Windscribe and so far it seems pretty good. Some locations have better speeds than others, but I did read in one of their blogs or previous responses to a customer that it’s best to connect to a place nearer to where you actually are if the speeds seem to be especially slow that time. Personally, with what you can get on the free plan, it’s good enough to say this a rather satisfying VPN.

Fred 10/10 January 5, 2018

Works with Netflix

Read https://windscribe.com/features/windflix

You have to connect to the WINDFLIX location in order to access Netflix US and UK. Works perfectly.

Speeds WERE bad, but if you get their beta version which includes the ikev2 protocol, I’m seeing 95% of my normal speed. Went from a 3/5 VPN (because of the speeds) to a solid 5/5.

Vishnu 8/10 December 29, 2017

Windscribe is good for the most part

I got a two year subscription to Windscribe VPN at a good price. They always seem to have some sort of a deal going which makes it good value for money. They have no bandwidth restrictions or device restrictions and recently added an Android app as well. They seem to have a wide selection of servers across the world. in the PC app, they have an option to select the best server location automatically.

Wish they would bring this to mobile as well. Speed performance can be a bit lacking during heavy traffic, but has been good for the most part. Overall, I think Windscribe is good value for money.

Peter Merchand 5/10 December 23, 2017

Windscribe VPN is Average

Based upon your review, I purchased the Pro version of Windscribe with the intent of using it to access Directv Now in Canada. I have satellite internet through Xplornet with about 35 mbps download. That 35 mbps became a maximum of 2.5 using TCP and various ports and US locations. Obviously not enough for my purpose. Constructively, may I suggest that consideration be given to the fact that users choose a vpn not only for security and it may not be the best alternative for avoiding content restrictions.

Robert 8/10 December 20, 2017

Seems good

I’m also a Windscribe user and agree the data cap was a bit of a turn off however, seeing as it is free you can’t really complain. I did end up investing in the pro plan and it’s been great so far and in my opinion worth the upgrade. I’m now on my second month as a pro plan user.

Can’t complain.

victim #1000 1/10 December 12, 2017

scammers

I tried this VPN 6 moths ago and was not happy with the extremely slow performance.

After uninstalling / cancelling my account I am still being billed 6 months later.

My refund requests to support are replied with advice on using the app which I don’t even use anymore.

The account section of the site has no cancel button either. Major red flag!

Owl 2/10 November 17, 2017

Very slow..

Ok. This VPN slow. Really slow, even though I had a Pro plan a while ago. I could hardly stream Netflix, which is one of the main reasons I got it. The desktop application was eh. I wish it could have had more proxies. I ended up switching to Psiphon and it was a lot faster, and free.