Disclosure: TheBestVPN is reader-supported. When you buy a VPN through links on our site, we may earn commissions. Learn more.

ExpressVPN Review

Rob Mardisalu

Rob Mardisalu · Read user reviews

After reviewing dozens of VPNs, I can say that ExpressVPN app can be considered fast, secure and efficient. Their biggest con is their current pricing…

expressvpn
ExpressVPN is rated 3rd out of 78 VPNs on TheBestVPN.com

ExpressVPN is fast, secure and keeps you fully anonymous with their strict no logging policy. They allow torrenting/P2P and even work with Tor for the maximum level of privacy. The app looks great and it’s very easy to use. ExpressVPN supports virtually all devices you need it on.

ExpressVPN uses the industry standard OpenVPN tunneling protocol and AES 256-bit as default, but if you’re more techy and want to spice it up, you can do so manually. Their server park consists of a staggering amount of 3000+ servers in 94 countries.

The price of their service is rather expensive and it isn’t the best option for Netflix. In our tests, only 6 out of 30 US servers worked.

All in all, it’s a very good premium VPN service, but not the best choice when you’re looking for a Netflix VPN on a budget. If you’re looking to be secure and anonymous, ExpressVPN is an excellent choice.

ExpressVPN Overview

OVERALL RANK: #3 out of 78 VPNs
USABILITY: Very Easy, Supports All Devices
LOG FILES: No Logging Policy
LOCATIONS: 94 countries, 3000+ servers
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat
TORRENTING: P2P & Torrenting Allowed
NETFLIX: Unblocks Netflix USA
ENCRYPTION/PROTOCOL: 256-bit AES/SSTP, PPTP, OpenVPN, IPSec & L2TP
COST: $12.95/mo
OFFICIAL WEBSITE: www.ExpressVPN.com

ExpressVPN Pros

1. Massive Selection of Servers on Almost All Continents

One of the biggest advantages of ExpressVPN is the sheer number of servers. This VPN boasts 3,000 servers in 160 server locations in 94 countries. They have a server on every single continent except for Antarctica. ExpressVPN only competes with NordVPN, PIATorGuard and CyberGhost when it comes down to the sheer number of servers they offer.

For most of their servers, the registered IP address and physical server are in the same country, but they also give you the option of using virtual servers. Virtual servers match the registered IP address to the country you’ve connected to, although their servers are physically located in another country that’s usually close by.

expressvpn server locations

Though less than 3% of their servers are virtual servers, these servers make sure that you enjoy a speedy, dependable, and secure connection at all times.

This large selection of servers means you won’t have to settle for the farthest ones from you, which are usually the slowest.

2. Speed Tests Prove They’re Really Fast

Another important aspect of ExpressVPN that makes them easy to like is their speed. I tested their performance on SpeedTest.net and Fast.com to be extra thorough. The results from SpeedTest.net show a blazingly fast performance for most of the locations tested.

I tested for the following:

New Jersey

  • Ping: 25ms / Download: 45.14 Mbps / Upload: 18.60 Mbps

New York

  • Ping: 39ms / Download: 175.75 Mbps / Upload: 46.54 Mbps

Europe (UK)

  • Ping: 174ms / Download: 242.16 Mbps / Upload: 43.77 Mbps
Speed test

Hong Kong

  • Ping: 447ms / Download: 136.18 Mbps / Upload: 13.42 Mbps

The results from Fast.com, on the other hand, show a mixed bag that was potentially due to Netflix connections:

Europe (UK)

  • Ping: 107ms / Download: 140 Mbps / Upload: 37 Mbps
Speed test

Hong Kong

  • Ping: 247ms / Download: 130 Mbps / Upload: 28 Mbps

Still, you should never put too much emphasis on a speed test. Different factors like the physical location, your internet connection, and the speed of your computer can impact these results.

3. Usability: A Satisfying User Experience

ExpressVPN claims that you can get yourself set up with their service in about 5 minutes, so I wanted to test this out. I was pleasantly surprised that I was able to install and activate ExpressVPN quickly and with no problems.

Before I knew it, I was already using their “Smart Location” feature to efficiently connect to their server.

expressvpn

You can even manually configure your connection by using OS-level VPN settings. There’s also support for literally every single device you can think of—more on that later in the review.

Get started in just three steps:

  1. Choose your subscription.
  2. Head to their setup page.
  3. Download and install ExpressVPN.

4. Useful Features to Help You Stay Secure

Network Lock: Kill-Switch

In case your VPN is disconnected, it’s crucial that your data still doesn’t get compromised. Meet their kill-switch, called Network Lock.

expressvpn review

As soon as your connection suffers any interruption, this will stop any traffic from going in or out of your device. I was happy to realize that this means that my personal data will never be exposed to anyone on the web, whether my ISP or criminals. Even a failed connection won’t compromise my information.

ExpressVPN offers this as a standard feature on their apps for Mac, Windows, Linux, and routers.

5. Device Compatibility and Routers

There’s a lot of value in just one subscription since you can use it simultaneously on as many as five supported devices, regardless of the platform.

expressvpn support

I contacted ExpressVPN’s live chat while I was looking for this information on their site, and they confirmed to me that I can use their service on a wide range of devices:

  • Devices – Windows, Android, Mac, iOS, Linux, Routers, Chromebook, Kindle Fire, Nook
  • Browser Extensions – Chrome, Firefox
  • Consoles and Smart TVs – Playstation, Apple TV, Xbox, Amazon Fire Stick TV, Nintendo Switch, Samsung Smart TV, all game consoles, and smart TVs

There are numerous reasons to protect more than one device, such as comprehensive security and smooth streaming on all your devices.

If you need to protect more than five devices, you have two options: Either buy an additional subscription or just set up ExpressVPN for your router.

If you’re going to use this VPN with a router, then you can protect numerous devices more efficiently and eliminate the need to install your VPN app on every device. This makes using the VPN for your router the more productive option since you can protect game consoles and smart TVs (everything that’s on your Wi-Fi network) just by securing your router alone.

As I’m finding out with many things on ExpressVPN, securing your router takes only a few, quick steps:

  1. Buy your initial subscription.
  2. Choose your VPN router.
  3. Choose your router model.

In no time at all, you’ll have secured your entire Wi-Fi network and numerous devices with only one VPN for your router.

6. Support for Both Tor and Torrenting

As someone who wants the securest connection available to me, I naturally wanted to find out if ExpressVPN supported Tor networks and torrenting. After scouring their website, I was pleased to read that they indeed do.

Using ExpressVPN with Tor gives you the strongest security possible. You get the anonymity of Tor along with the encryption of VPN. The end result is an airtight connection where even your VPN won’t be able to see what you’re doing inside the Tor network.

It’s important to remember that you first have to connect to ExpressVPN and then to Tor to make this work.

expressvpn torrenting

Using a Tor can slow down your connection speed, but if you live in a country with an oppressive government that’s watching your every move, it’s essential to have this as an option.

Torrenting is great if you want to download and share big files efficiently and quickly. Unfortunately, without a VPN, your IP address, location, and metadata will be exposed to prying eyes. ExpressVPN works with uTorrent, one of the most used torrenting clients around, to make sure that your file-sharing activity will never be traced back to you.

expressvpn support

A live chat agent on the site confirmed to me that ExpressVPN allows file-sharing traffic from their servers.

7. No Leaks Found at All

I also made sure to test ExpressVPN for any potential IP, DNS, WebRTC, and IPX leaks.

Here are the websites I tested.

IPLeak.net

  • Result: No Leak
No IP leaks found

Perfect-Privacy.com DNS Leak Test

  • Result: No Leak

BrowserLeaks WebRTC Leak Test

  • Result: No Leak

IPX.ac

  • Result: No Leak

To be extra thorough, I also tested this VPN’s installation file on VirusTotal.com.

VPN’s installation file on VirusTotal.com

There were no viruses found in the installer package.

8. Customer Support Shows Great Care for Customers

Good customer support is integral to any service that you buy. Aside from the tech considerations, it’s one of the strongest factors that can influence whether or not to go with a specific VPN. After all, if you’re not tech-savvy and you’re struggling to make your VPN work properly, then you want to have someone available 24/7 to help you out (and make sure your information stays protected all the time).

Customer support is definitely one of ExpressVPN’s most helpful offerings.

First of all, their live chat is open 24/7. I contacted them and asked a series of questions about their features. They gave me clear answers and were very responsive.

expressvpn support

Another way their customer support comes through for you is with their many self-help guides available right on their website. If you don’t want to wait around for an agent, then this is your best bet.

You can also reach out to their email support or file a support ticket.

Any way you cut it, I found that ExpressVPN has knowledgeable, helpful agents and resources on their website that make it easy for you to get the answers you need to properly use their VPN and stay protected.

9. Company Location: British Virgin Islands

ExpressVPN is located in the British Virgin Islands, as I was able to confirm from one of their live chat agents.

expressvpn review

The BVI is a collection of self-governing islands in the Caribbean. Perhaps best of all, from a data-privacy standpoint, they’re not part of the so-called 14 Eyes or the SIGINT Seniors Europe. These 14 countries share intelligence data with one another, so being outside this reach of coordination is helpful in protecting your privacy.

The good thing about being located in the BVI is:

  • There are no data-retention laws in their jurisdiction.
  • The only time a BVI company can be forced to reveal information in an investigation is by an order of their high court (outside countries can’t compel a BVI company to reveal anything).
  • There are many hoops investigators have to jump through to successfully convince a court to force a BVI company to reveal information.

From what I can tell, having a VPN based in the BVI is a major plus to keeping your identity and data safe.

10. Logging Policy

This VPN is committed to your privacy, which is why they have a strict, no-logging policy. They’ll never collect your:

  • IP addresses
  • Browsing history
  • Traffic destination or metadata
  • DNS queries
expressvpn review
Information on: https://www.expressvpn.com/what-is-vpn/policy-towards-logs

They also never collect any activity or connection logs.

ExpressVPN logging policy

A VPN will always have to collect some information, though. It’s good to know that ExpressVPN values customers to such an extent that they’re always open about what they take. When they do collect some of your data, they’ll always let you know.

expressvpn review

They collect:

  • Apps you’ve activated
  • Only the dates you’ve connected to the VPN
  • VPN server locations
  • Total MBs of data transfers

They’ll only store the least amount of information about you that they need in order to run a reliable VPN service.

11. Encryption Standards

AES encryptionYou never want third parties like your ISP or Wi-Fi operators intercepting your sensitive data when it’s traveling from your computer to VPN servers. To make sure this never happens, ExpressVPN uses 256-bit AES (Advanced Encryption Standard).

The U.S. government and security experts around the globe use AES-256, so you can be confident that your own data will always stay confidential.

expressvpn review

Even brute-force attacks on AES-256 are improbable.

12. Protocols

Protecting your data involves more than choosing a high-quality VPN. The VPN protocol is equally important since this is how the VPN secures data transfers.

It can get quite complicated to figure out which protocol is most secure.

Luckily, ExpressVPN makes this selection a cinch by letting you know which protocol is the best. For added security, ExpressVPN’s tunneling protocols—methods your device uses to connect to a VPN server—go beyond the default (and most secure) OpenVPN.

You can let ExpressVPN automatically choose the best protocol for you. ExpressVPN also supports SSTP, L2TP/IPsec, and PPTP protocols. The OpenVPN UDP/TCP option is the best combination of security and speed.

ExpressVPN Cons

1. Netflix Has Connection Issues in Quite a Few Locations

No review would be complete without examining one of the most popular reasons for using a VPN: Does it work with Netflix?

Technically, it does work, but you have to find a specific server that doesn’t get blocked, which means a bit of trial and error.

The following servers worked great in our tests, though there were issues with a lot of U.S. servers:

Americas

  • United States (only 6 out of 30 servers worked)
  • Canada
  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • Bahamas

Europe

  • United Kingdom (5 servers)
  • Switzerland
  • Italy
  • Sweden
  • Monaco

Asia Pacific

  • Hong Kong
  • Japan
  • Australia

Middle East & Africa

  • Algeria

ExpressVPN Pricing, Payment Options, Money-Back Guarantee and Free Trial

Price is always a significant factor when deciding on a VPN. ExpressVPN makes this very clear: They’re a premium VPN, so that’s reflected in their pricing. You’ll have to decide if paying a little extra is worth it for their top-notch security and good reputation.

expressvpn pricing review

Subscription Plan

ExpressVPN features various subscription plans:

expressvpn pricing review

The longer your subscription, the cheaper it gets.

That’s not to say that this is a low-cost VPN. If you compare them to free VPNs, this may seem a bit steep, but when you consider all of their features (servers) and performance (fast speeds), you can see why ExpressVPN charges what they do.

Payment Options

ExpressVPN makes it easy to pay for their services.

You can pay for your subscription in a number of ways, with all major credit cards being accepted. There are also alternative ways of payment, such as PayPal and Bitcoin, if that’s more convenient for you.

expressvpn pricing review

To pay, simply select your plan, input your email address, and choose your preferred payment method.

Money-Back Guarantee

You’ll be pleased to know that there’s a 30-day refund guarantee for any subscription plan. This means you can try their service risk-free.

30-day-money-back guarantee

If you change your mind for any reason after 30 days, you’ll get your money back, no questions asked.

Getting your money back is as easy as contacting ExpressVPN’s support team.

Free Trial

Unfortunately, because they’re a premium VPN, there’s no free trial offered.

There is a free trial for some mobile devices, however. Any mobile device in countries that can access the Google Play (Android) / App Store (iOS) can receive a free 7-day trial once they download the app.

Taking everything about ExpressVPN’s pricing into consideration, it can definitely come across as a con. You do get what you pay for, but there are other VPNs we rate higher than them, and they’re not as expensive. At the end of the day, ExpressVPN is still very expensive compared to many other VPNs.

Do I Recommend ExpressVPN?

yes we recommend expressvpnYes, I recommend ExpressVPN.

As far as VPNs go, they are hard to beat. Their security is top-notch, and they make it easy for you to protect as many devices as you want while not sacrificing speed.

While it is a premium service, as the pricing reflects, they offer a large number of servers spread across various regions of the world. Their customer service and support of Tor and torrenting are commendable.

It’s worth your money, which is why I recommend them.

Visit ExpressVPN.com

P.S. I’m always interested in user-reviews so if you’ve used ExpressVPN before, don’t hesitate to leave your review below. If your experience matched mine, cool. If it didn’t, that’s fine too!

Add your own review:

To keep up the quality content on our website, we only accept user reviews that provide valuable information for our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you want your review to be accepted, please write a helpful, informative and unique review - either positive or negative. Thank you for your support!

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

52 user reviews for ExpressVPN

Avatar

Rahul 10/10 August 31, 2019

Excellent VPN Service - Ultra FAST Indeed

This is an honest review of this "ExpressVPN" service. I was looking for a really reliable, fast VPN service so I tried a number of VPN providers including TunnelBear. TunnelBear was quite reliable but the VPN connection speed was very slow. Then I found Expressvpn on Google. Initially, I was skeptical of the speed, reliability etc. they claimed on their websites but thought of giving it a try. And mind you, I was blown away by the speeds and connections I am receiving. I have a pretty solid internet connection (110 Mbps download speed). When I am connecting Expressvpn, I am still getting 50-60 Mbps when I'm remotely connecting to servers in India - to watch Indian videos, etc. The download speeds are amazingly fast when compared to other service providers I encountered. The downside is it costs a bit more but definitely worth the $$ when compared to other service providers. A++ so far.

Avatar

geoff_the_chef 10/10 August 26, 2019

Worth taking extra measures beyond a VPN in your browser

I've been using ExpressVPN for a number of years and have found the service to be 100% reliable. Obviously, very easy to install on Windows, but also Ubuntu and other Linux distros. There is also an option to buy routers with ExpressVPN preinstalled. For the more adventurous, instructions on their website show how to use it within pFsense. On the rare occasions I have used the customer service the response has been excellent. However, any VPN isn't the be all and end all as solution to privacy. If you are concerned about what information you are leaking when browsing, visit privacytools.io and also lookup the "the hated one" on YouTube.

Avatar

Killerrosebud 10/10 August 11, 2019

CONFIRMED ACTUALLY WORKS

I've been paying for this service for about six months now, after seeing JonTron being sponsored by them. a few months go by and I don't notice anything different, until tonight, when someone actually tried DDOSing me while playing a video game, and my connection was only interrupted for a fraction of a second. Granted, I DID get disconnected from the game and thrown back to the lobby, but it STILL protected me from a full-on attack. I can 100% confirm now that this service truly works and I'll be using this for a while to come

Avatar

reader 4/10 July 27, 2019

Will be trialling other VPN's

I use BT Internet (3 years), my internet usually goes down about once per month for a moment or two? I don't think the WiFi has ever (?) gone down. BT internet really isn't bad.

ExpressVPN is my first trial of a VPN - never used one before, so can't really comment in detail about it because I don't have a comparison. I bought a months subscription, the software seemed to work, I was back surfing within 2 minutes. I noticed I didn't have IPv6 connectivity, ExpressVPN got back to me within an hour or so and told me this was standard - no problems.

my internet connection does seem to regularly drop with Express, maybe 4 times per day. hitting the disconnect logo and reconnecting seems to bring it back up. pure download speeds seem reasonable (the BT connection is about 1.6MB/12Mb), and 100MB files come in at about 1.6MB/s+. Using Task Manager Networking, my sustained file download rate does seem to jump about a bit more with Express, rather than a constant level 1.6MB/s graph, it does have some downward glitches.

my general surfing speed (web pages with images etc) seem to suffer a bit, pages do often pause loading for a second or 3. Express seems to be a reasonable first try, will trial out others

Avatar

chris 1/10 July 25, 2019

ExpressVPN use to be amazing

I've been using Expressvpn for years and they use to be amazing. But within the last few months connection issues has been horrible. I average at least 1 connection problem an hour. I just started up my laptop and couldn't connect to the internet until I exited Expressvpn - disconnecting wasn't working. I don't have time to wait for expressvpn to work.

I've also noticed a lot more advertising on the internet for Expressvpn. I'm wondering if increased popularity might be contributing to the connection issues.

Avatar

Zeidler 8/10 July 19, 2019

Netflix Only Works on 2 Server Locations in the US

I got ExpressVPN yesterday. I need to use a specific server location in the US but I cannot connect to Netflix from that server location. Pretty wack... Maybe there is good reason for it that I don't understand.

On another note, I've found the chat support to be extremely good. If the connection stays stable, I will be very pleased with them despite losing access to Netflix but it's only been about 20 hours since set-up. Time will tell. 7.5/10 for now.

Avatar

Dennis 4/10 July 15, 2019

I heard great things, but...

ExpressVPN seemed like the go-to VPN service by many YouTubers, so I thought "might as well try it out, since people get so many sponsorships from it".

While I can't complain about the speeds and the latency (you're using a VPN, after all), I frequently experienced connection issues and occasionally speed dropping down to a crawl. After cancelling my subscription, I received intrusive push notifications and emails, reminding me of my expiring subscription, with no way to turn them off (at least none that I know of).

Perhaps I'm judging this too soon, but with the two months I've been at ExpressVPN, I didn't have a great experience. Even Hotspot Shield, the company I'm more suspicious about, provided more reliable connections. I'll try out Dashlane's VPN service next, since theirs reroutes to Hotspot Shield.

Avatar

Artifex 1/10 July 8, 2019

No longer reliable

I've used ExpressVPN for 2 years but the last 3 months it has become unreliable. Right now I am unable to connect to any location - it just eternally "reconnects." This happened a few times in the past two week. Customer service does not exist, so it's time to move on. ExpressVPN is useless now.

Avatar

Kirk in Canada 10/10 July 6, 2019

Fast and Secure

I've been using Express VPN now for about 6 months and am very pleased with the results. My biggest concern is speed and I can say the download speeds are very fast. There are more than enough servers to choose from and when I needed to contact customer service it was simple and easy to connect with a rep. It's a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for and I definitely recommend ExpressVPN.

Avatar

Ruth 1/10 July 5, 2019

PayPal beware

I have had the same problem with PayPal billing as mentioned below - after three days of service my account was terminated and they demanded I purchase a new subscription because PayPal apparently "was unable to process your payment with us,'' despite there being no evidence of such either from PayPal or my bank. As far as I'm concerned they either have serious problems with PayPal in the billing department or this seems to them a good way to get more money off you. I'm glad I only purchased a month to trial them - if you do plan on using bitcoin or another way to pay, I would strongly recommend not going all in with a plan to start with, no matter how much money you believe you save. Once this is resolved and I make sure I won't be billed again by them I will be switching to another service.

Avatar

Robertr 1/10 June 25, 2019

EX User

Works great from America, but in China, one of the bragging points they use, it is crap. It always breaks and they expect the user to do extensive testing for them. Then, weeks later, the service may or may not be restored.

I have ALL of the documentation to prove it, including the so called LOG files, emails, etc.

Over the last two years, I have had to download so many upgrades, do more testing, sent more log files, attempted to connect to so many different servers, all with an end result that I am unable to connect.

They will not honor a request for a refund, but offered a one month extension. For what? Another month of no ability to connect?

There is NO hype. Just misdirection. If you are in China, this is NOT a product you want. I have TWO other VPNs that connect in less than 15 seconds. They are fast. They have encryption, etc etc.

ExpressVPN is the old school. And they haven't kept up. They are a dead product.

Avatar

Bland writing 1/10 June 16, 2019

ExpressVPN asks for my phone number

After accepting and verifying my credit card, ExpressVPN requested my phone number. They said it was for verification and communication purposes. I gave them push back, by replying that the company already had my email for communication purposes and I questioned their claims to protecting privacy and security. They reneged on their request, but the damage was done, so I cancelled my subscription. I don't know of any VPN company requiring subscriber's phone numbers.

Avatar

David 1/10 May 21, 2019

Big Time Run Around

Yesterday, I signed up with ExpressVPN and paid via PayPal. The service worked well, but the next day (today) they terminated my account saying that they needed to verify my billing information. They wanted me to provide my telephone so we could talk.

PayPal provides billing verification; that's their job. I chatted with ExpressVPN and mentioned that, received nothing but the run around. The billing team needed to talk with me to "secure my account from spam and hackers." I asked how does talking with them on the phone to prevent spam and hackers, but of course they had no answer. Just a bunch of jack around BS.

I don't like it. They accept anonymous BitCoin and yet get all itchy for more customer information when PayPal has already processed and approved the transaction? Something's off here folks. Maybe ExpressVPN has no bad intention, but my treatment via chat showed that they - along with much of the tech world - treat their customers with a level of disrespect that I'm not going to support. Next stop: NordVPN.

Avatar

Peter N 6/10 April 11, 2019

Better than NordVPN but still have speed issues

I've had the same speed problems with NordVPN and ExpressVPN in that the servers will randomly slow and I have to manually reconfigure and only L2TP seems to be stable which has lower security. So I'd use when you have to connect to open wifi.

Avatar

Tiddler 5/10 March 30, 2019

Ok most of the time

I've had ExpressVPN for a while now. In the beginning it was good, lately it has become very hard to connect to servers anywhere in the world, keeps locking out my internet connection. I have to keep going into the software to repair the installation. It seems the software driver for the ExpressVPN to work gets corrupted. Will carry on using it until it expires.

Avatar

Jaina 1/10 March 27, 2019

ExpressVPN Bricked My New Router

I tried to flash my router with ExpressVPN code. I chose them because I was supposed to be able to cover multiple devices by just connecting my router to their VPN service. Don't be fooled. I followed THEIR instruction (via chat) to flash their firmware onto my brand new router that was working perfectly fine. I even chatted, "Are you sure this is okay?" - He said Yes. Now my router is completely bricked. It cannot connect to the internet - just their site. It cannot be reset to factory default settings. Even Linksys cannot get the router to see their site. I tried to work with their Tech Support. They took 8 HOURS of my SUNDAY to do this and I got nowhere. On Monday, they sent me emails to have me do the SAME reset efforts as on Sunday. They could not give a crap. I finally cancelled my subscription because I was within the 30 days trial period. I haven't received my money back yet. But no matter what, I'm out a $250 router. ExpressVPN SUCKS!

Avatar

Chad 8/10 March 24, 2019

DNS Leaks With Ubuntu

I had dns leaks with Nordvpn on Ubuntu, so I switched to ExpressVPN. After installing I also had dns leaks with Express, so I had to manually change the dns servers. Even though they still leak, at least now they're not traced back directly to my ISP.

Avatar

Ted Tomlin 5/10 March 17, 2019

Very flaky

I have a lot of trouble with my expression. I constantly won't connect blocking me getting on line. I have deleted and reinstalled at least five times, and it still plays up. For the cost I'm beginning to think it isn't worth it.

Avatar

Confused 9/10 February 26, 2019

But why would you do that???

Love the service of ExpressVPN, however the only issue I do not understand and hope they will address and resolve in the future is the payment method options of renewal subscriptions. When subscribing to the service, you may use a slew of payment methods including Bitcoin and other digital currencies along with other traditional payment methods. However, when it is time to renew you subscription, you are only allowed to use a credit card or debit card and it cannot be a prepaid credit card without a name. They do not accept any of the digital currencies for subscription renewals. I do not understand this policy.

Avatar

J 1/10 February 24, 2019

Customer support sucks

Just because they have 24/7 Live Customer Support, that doesn't mean the agent is effective! Seems like they are clueless people from India. You have to jump through hoops just to update your email address. I've never been asked so many questions in my life for verification. Ultimately their lack of support is what turned me off and I will not be renewing.

Avatar

Anna 10/10 February 11, 2019

The best VPN

The only VPN can work with android TV netflix. I tried NordVPN, CyberGhost, Goose and Surfshark. None of them can work with Netflix TV app except ExpressVPN. The speed is perfect, so as everything else, but if I would not need the netflix tv options, I would go for NordVPN, the second best VPN, because it’s good, work with Netflix fine (but not TV version) and the price is much cheaper compared to ExpressVPN.

Avatar

Dave 10/10 January 24, 2019

Checking in from the PRC

Recently, the Chinese government has been cracking down on VPNs which it sees as a threat to its' absolute intellectual sovereignty. Lots of domestic services were shut down and lots of foreign VPNs were blocked in short order. ExpressVPN actually stopped connecting for a few days during the sting.

Right now, the number of servers that I can reliably connect to is down to 4 or 5 but that's really all I need. Speed is decent enough, especially considering that I'm in a metropolitan area. I can watch Youtube and Netflix with decent quality. Torrenting is fine; I get 60-80% of my normal speed if I'm going through the closest accessible node (Hong Kong). Overall I've been very happy with the experience. I highly recommend it for anybody traveling to or living in China.

Avatar

D.N.A 9/10 December 18, 2018

Great! only two downside.. but still worth the price!

Before heading to ExpressVPN, I was trying out NordVPN. I gave up after two days and had it refunded due to super low speed. (TBH, NordVPN and ExpressVPN online customer support is equally good) ExpressVPN really has the great speed I needed.. and yeah speed and safety is what I needed and without any, I wouldn't even bother to write any reviews. Initially, I just bought a month to see the speed performance. OUTSTANDING! So I went to purchase a year. After a few days, I notice my end date was not 15mths but only 12 mths.

Hence, went to online chat to extend and it just took 10 secs to assist on my request and 10 mins to complete it.

The only downside is, it's quite expensive compare to all others VPN and only can use up to 3 devices simultaneously. As of price is, I have no regret about using ExpressVPN.

Avatar

Joel Weisbrod 3/10 December 14, 2018

Works Okay but Heaven Help if You Need Help

OK as a VPN when it is working. When you have a problem, they have NO TELEPHONE SUPPORT AT ALL. Their chat support is terrible. Their agent knew nothing and constantly had to go ask someone else for help. They couldn't help either. Spent the entire afternoon (3+ hours) and they still could not fix it. Some other VPN has to be better!!!!!

Avatar

Dave 6/10 December 13, 2018

ExpressVPN in the UK

I've been with ExpressVPN a few years and they were great initially but in the last year things have gone downhill from my perspective.

The up/down speeds are still good but I'm often pestered to complete Captcha tests, that's on Google's services (.com, .co.uk and scholar.google) and occasionally on alternate search sites such as Bing - of course duckduckgo works perfectly but sometimes the results aren't quite so relevant. I think this is more of a problem for UK servers because it happens less often, but still does happen, if I connect from say Holland. However, I don't want to slow the connection by using servers in nearby countries, especially as that can be a pain with languages changing around and less relevant search results (I personally only want anonymity down to the level of country).

My biggest gripe though is that I can't view/listen to any BBC programs using expressVPN's servers. I'm already in the UK, but I don't want to have to disconnect to access BBC programs, especially as I have it connected at the router.

I'd even be prepared to pay more for a less used set of ip addresses but the company maintain that their range is wide enough and refreshed often enough not need this service. I beg to disagree

Avatar

Horndoggle 10/10 December 8, 2018

My Best Experience With a VPN

After installing and using ExpressVPN, I repeatedly experienced denial or dropping via a kill switch. Technicians were quick to help when I asked. And kept responding with suggestions. Now it's working flawlessly, seamlessly with my browser. I want to thank the staff of ExpressVPN for persevering with the quirks of my machine/software until the problem was solved! Great Experience! Thank you!

Avatar

Booruwa 9/10 November 25, 2018

ExpressVPN in UAE

Being in UAE and connecting on Etisalat not every vpn works, that too on different devices and platforms. ExpressVPN manages to bypass all these restrictions. I have used customer service a couple of times and they are very helpful. Streaming no problem. Since there are plenty of servers speed also is hardly an issue. The only time it has a problem is that the ExpressVPN app will not connect on IOS devices... it connects but browsing won’t work. For this issue they have a manual setup to install vpn profile to the iPhone. Once this is done it’s again simple to connect, however locations are limited but speed is reliable. Very satisfied after using for 1yr and most likely I’ll renew with them again.

Avatar

Lorna 3/10 November 4, 2018

Not good for gaming or downloads

I got this VPN over NordVPN because this one apparently boasted the higher speeds, but I can tell you that's a lie. Not only does it slow my downloads to a crawl, but many of my websites are slow to load, Discord lags and my video games take forever to start up. Basically, everything I bought the VPN for--to protect my gaming and personal info when downloading--is slowed to the point of being borderline useless. This isn't even torrents being slowed either. I'm talking legitimate downloads.

Avatar

Paul 9/10 October 21, 2018

Very good. Your best bet.

While they're not perfect (who/what is?), this one actually works. The desktop app does not work correctly. Not for servers/connection (PHEW!), but if you don't use TCP/UDP, then you cannot use the connection lock (blocks connection when/if net goes out), else your local network (i.e. computers, printers) won't work. Works 99% of time and very few if any dropped connections. Reconnects fast. VERY good speeds, often 90-95% of my connection. Skip CyberGhost (historically slow and unreliable connection) and Nord (YouTube walletstuffers, IMO). Try Express and the other ones first.

Avatar

Ricky Verde 10/10 September 27, 2018

Reliable Great VPN experience over 6 years.

Been using ExpressVPN for nearly 6 years. Professional company. It is not cheap but is a very reliable service and has hundreds of server locations. As a Mint Linux/Ubuntu Linux user it is simple to download and install from the deb file -and simple to use from the terminal (e.g., "expressvpn connect canada" and can be controlled from the available web browser extensions-(Firefox /Chrome). This is a smart company and they take care of their customers well.

Avatar

Acacia 8/10 September 21, 2018

Express Vpn

Well, after a bit of research and wanting to secure my IP info, I went with ExpressVPN. Thanks for your info and breakdown. I'm not what you would consider super tech savy, so it was extremely helpful. My only issue was logging into my netflix account, NETFLIX would not allow me to stream. I pay for my netflix subscription and it stated I need to turn off my VPN. Well, not sure how as I installed it on my router...unless I unistall the VPN. Any suggestions of reasonings on why I cant stream a site I pay for?

Avatar

Berry 10/10 July 25, 2018

A+ VPN and stellar customer service

After contacting their customer service, I just had to rate them in random websites. Their customer service is very, very good. Quite understanding, precise, and clear. I tried the vpn for one month, just to see how it fares with the ISP in our country, and it was very good and fast when I was able to connect (our ISP can be unstable because of the weather). The app was so easy to set up, too. I was mainly using this for Netflix.

Sadly, I had to part ways because I feel like I couldn't fully use it with the state of our ISP and household, and the monthly price is painful. Contacting their live chat support was quite easy, and after explaining my situation my refund was approved. Shout out to Gabriel!

tl;dr: Very fast, connected well, easy to use app, stellar customer service, moneyback guarantee works

Avatar

Anonymous 8/10 July 11, 2018

Still using Bitpay

Although they accept bitcoins, as of July 2018, they still use Bitpay (instead of the superior open source BTCpay). As everyone knows, Bitpay went rouge by dropping BIP21 payment protocol support and requires an https connection and an email address to complete payments, which works against privacy.

Avatar

Anonymous 8/10 June 10, 2018

No issues

I am very impressed with the service. Had PIA for a year and although the service was ok, it was nothing close to Express. Tried Nord for a month after using Express for a month earlier as many were claiming Nord was much better than Express, but I found I was much more comfortable with the Express VPN. No privacy issues up to this point and it is by far the fastest I have found where the VPN is concerned. It’s a total package.

Avatar

Micky 9/10 April 24, 2018

Best I've found, nice features.

This is the best VPN that I’ve used. Good speeds, quick to connect, and excellent & very quick customer service when I’ve had questions. I often use the VPN to access TV and media from other countries, and when the media suppliers learn of the VPN connection the IP gets blacklisted. ExpressVPN tries to keep up by changing IPs but it’s sometimes a cat-and-mouse game to find one that works to stream media. I like the preference settings that lets me include or exclude certain apps from going through the VPN. And – though I never use it – they allow torrenting should I ever need it. One issue is that when connected to the service, Google often directs me to their Arabic UAE site even though my real & VPN regions are nowhere near there…

Avatar

SiriusMac 9/10 April 2, 2018

Fast Servers #1 Reason

I’ve used several VPN’s including NordVPN which was terribly slow in comparison to ExpressVPN. So far right out of the gate this thing has worked perfectly. The fast servers is my #1 reason for using it. What good is a VPN if it slows your internet connection to a crawl? It is pricey, but I did get in on the 15 month deal. NordVPN is cheaper and if you are willing to deal with the speed of that service, which I was not it’s probably okay. I like the kill switch and even though I wish there was more than 3 simultaneous connections I’ve learned to deal with that. I can see if you have a family that this would be an issue though. By the way they have GREAT customer service. I initially signed up for the month to month plan because I was not really sure. I contacted them and got a response and a solution within 2 hours. I highly recommend ExpressVPN.

Avatar

Lawrence 5/10 April 1, 2018

Doesn't work on Windows XP

I spent hours trying to make their software work on a Win XP x32 PC that i need to keep legacy software running and wanted sme protection with a VPN. I spent hours trying to get their software to work but no success. The best their online chat support could do was to advise rebooting and another attempt at reinstall. No technical suggestions. Deciding to give up they then said a refund of my payment made hours earlier would take 7 to 10 days.

Avatar

Ted S. 9/10 March 28, 2018

Privacy, yes but...

Good overall review, however; I do think you missed the mark for those interested in true online anonymity, that is how do I pay for the service in a way that cannot be tracked back to the payee. Many sites will allow payment with bitcoin or gift cards that can be bought with cash. I think it would have been helpful to some people to include that information.

Avatar

Anonymous 9/10 February 22, 2018

no problems yet

My experience with ExpressVPN has been really great so far as I have encountered no problems yet.

The VPN does all the things I want it to do for instance, it doesn’t keep logs, there are a lot of locations to choose from and the speed is great. There’s only one thing I don’t really like with this VPN is that it has been blacklisted on many sites and it has a pretty high spam risk score on many websites.

Avatar

Alan Easdale 8/10 December 9, 2017

A bit pricy, but worth the money.

Although one of the more expensive options, Express VPN has served me well on regular trips into China, much more reliable uptimes than other popular options which often get blocked by the country wide firewall. It also maintains a good number of servers worldwide help minimise ping and with upload and download speeds.

Worth noting that the best servers are usually hidden or not the recommended ones. Also keep an eye on your subscription, the service automatically renews, so if you don’t need it for a month or two untick auto renew in settings. My experience with the customer service has also been great via. their web chat.

Avatar

Sven Signer 9/10 November 21, 2017

Great but high price.

Currently using ExpressVPN as my daily driver to keep my connection secure and to keep my IP safe from DDoS attacks.
I have had no downtime in the 3 months I’ve used it and only some lag spikes near the evening (lasted about 2 minutes).

The quality you get is absolutely excellent and the speed is perfect for gaming and uploading aswell, the only downside is that it is a bit more expensive than other VPN’s but you get great quality in exchange.

The support is excellent aswell and they answer my questions usually within 24 hours.

Avatar

D 3/10 November 14, 2017

Struggling

As much as ExpressVPN is excellent for speed and when connected security where I am using it I have had nothing but trouble.

Although we have had several chats Express seems to be at a loss on how to overcome the ISP’s. I am one of a number of users here that struggle. Maybe in general Express is great. But I feel they are unable to deal with those places that are more difficult.

Avatar

Jennifer Aldrich 10/10 November 6, 2017

ExpressVPN in the World of Streaming Television

I started using ExpressVPN about a year ago when I decided to cut the cord from cable and switch to streaming television exclusively. I decided to go with Kodi, which is open source streaming software. I quickly found out that many of the shows I wanted to watch were IP blocked, and I didn’t reside in the country they serviced.

So, off I went looking for a VPN provider so I wouldn’t be geo-blocked due to my IP address. After reviewing many of the more popular services, I decided to go with ExpressVPN based on the price and the 24/7 service, as well as the vast selection of countries to choose from.

They had a very simple app to download from the Google Play store, which I needed because I am not the most tech savvy person. After downloading the app, all I had to do was click a green button on it and instantly my IP was changed! It was incredibly easy to change my IP location to virtually any country in the world with just the click of the very simply stated “choose location” button right next to the button to turn the service on. When I went looking to see what other locations they had, the interface was broken down by continents, each with many, many countries in its list and many different IP addresses to choose from within each country

After some time of using it, I noticed the connections were always solid with no drops and amazing speeds. I often found ExpressVPN provided an even more solid connection than my own home connection most of the time!

When I needed technical help setting up an IP address on a smart tv, customer service was there within a minute and walked me through each step, and waited to make sure I had everything up and running. The customer service is stellar, and made me very impressed with the company as a whole

I was so impressed with the service that I changed my monthly plan, which was 12.95 per month, to pay for a year outright and was taken down to 8.32 per month for the service! For the options it provides, the speeds and quality, and the outstanding customer service, it’s the best 100 dollars a year I’ve spent

Avatar

Michael M. 9/10 October 19, 2017

Reliable for over a year

I have used ExpressVPN for over a year and I have no plans on changing. I have them on my MAC and Android, and its very easy to use. I hardly notice a difference in speed when browsing and use use it for everything.

I have emailed them twice with problems and they have got back to me within 24 hours to fix those problems, in 1 email. A bonus is they have a website on the DeepWeb and also take bitcoin as payment, for people who want to stay completely anonymous! I would say they are a little more on the expensive side compared to their competitors, but I will be sticking to them. They have over 90 countries for you to connect to, which is a little crazy as I only use the same 3.

I would recommend them for their speed, uptime, choice and customer service. 9/10.

Avatar

Ronne Timmerman 9/10 October 15, 2017

Expensive but very good

ExpressVPN is a good solution for VPN, it is easy to set up, you just download some programs on your devices and you start serving the internet right away. The only issue that I have is when I am at home and I want to connect to my Chromecast, the app on my Android telephone might have been connected to a server, what prevents my mobile to connect to the chrome cast.

The solution to connect to the VPN with your router is good, only the set up is a bit technical. But there is a excellent tutorial on the website. The only issue I have with ExpressVPN is the price: 99 dollars for 1 year. But what you pay is what you get.

Avatar

Kostis 9/10 October 12, 2017

What can I say about expressvpn..

I have been using ExpressVPN for about 6 months. It has been an amazing journey so far, they have really fast connections and super user-friendly UI. They have a wide variety of countries to choose from, but I mostly use USA so I can stream on Netflix.

They are online all the time, which means you will never be in a position that you need it, and you will not have it.

Avatar

Boni 9/10 October 9, 2017

Legit software

I started using ExpressVPN just few months ago and I have no complaints about it.

Yes, it’s slightly higher prices then the other VPNs, but I managed to opt in for 15 months (at a slightly cheaper cost).

I’m using it on both iOS and Windows – pretty smooth and flawless.

Recommending.

Avatar

Joe 10/10 June 30, 2017

Fantastic!!!

I landed on ExpressVPN, because I was looking for a good VPN provider for myself to stay anonymous online. I was looking around and once a window popped with David’s face on it. I asked several questions from him and he showed me around their website and how to install ExpressVPN. Once installed I started tried it out and was amazed how fast it is. I have a couple of friends who use VPNs, but their download speed always shrinks when they connect themselves to another server.

I have nothing but good words for this company. They are fast and reliable. When I have some questions I just visit ExpressVPN and they answer all my questions fast.

A definite must, if you want to protect your privacy.

Avatar

Eyu 6/10 June 12, 2017

Good but overpriced

It’s usually good, but most times it doesn’t justify their price. The internet speed in China is nothing to write home about on top of that the government intentionally slows down foreign websites, if it doesn’t restrict access to them. So a VPN is a must for me. I bought a year’s subscription of ExpressVPN about 9 months ago for $100/year.

I read it was the best VPN service for China on this website and many others. I get 3MB/S download speed if the network is great, as I said earlier the internet here is nothing special. I’m planning on trying NordVPN when my subscription ends. Some of my friends use it. It seems as fast and reliable as ExpressVPN and it’s a little cheaper.

Avatar

André 9/10 May 25, 2017

Good software

ExpressVPN is a solid product – especially when you need a smooth experience. I used free VPNs in the past (such as Betternet & Tunnelbear), but they’re slow. Thus I decided to invest some money into VPN software.

I debated long between PIA & ExpressVPN, but eventually went for the latter.

Avatar

Bryan Johnson 3/10 May 8, 2017

Problem after problem

I’ve used several of the VPN’s listed since I came to China a year and a half ago, but sadly the most memorable experience I had was using Express VPN, a paying subscription that I first used, with all sorts of problems.

After a month, it became harder and harder to get the VPN working and connecting, then one night I did, and instantly my laptop went blue screen. Twice! I spent the next week getting back basic functions of my computer. I can’t blame Express VPN for the crashes, but it was awfully suspicious.

Avatar

Troy 10/10 April 22, 2017

Perfect for personal use

Started using ExpressVPN in december 2014 and I’ve never looked back.

Their servers are fast and I really think they care for my anonymity. The customer support has always been friendly and quick when I’ve had questions regarding their product. They might cost a bit more than the cheapest providers, but I think they’re worth every penny.

-Happy customer