Disclosure: TheBestVPN is reader-supported. When you buy a VPN through links on our site, we may earn commissions. Learn more.

PureVPN Review

Rob Mardisalu

Rob Mardisalu · Read user reviews

Editor of TheBestVPN.com

Pure VPN screenshot Full disclosure: I’m not affiliated with PureVPN in any way nor I’m using their affiliate links. This is fully my honest, unbiased experience with PureVPN.

Testing period: 1 month


Quick Background & Features Info

Founded in 2006 by their parent company GZ Systems, PureVPN is one of the oldest and largest VPN providers on the market.

From their humble 2-server beginnings, PureVPN has quickly expanded their operation and they now boast more than 2,000 servers across 180 different countries.

PureVPN server locations

While they are headquartered in Hong Kong, which is an increasingly tumultuous jurisdiction for a VPN provider (largely due to their proximity and relationship with China) PureVPN manages and hosts their own network and DNS hardware which means that your information should be more secure with them than the average VPN.

Their services are compatible with all major devices including:

  • Windows
  • Android
  • Mac
  • iOS
  • Linux

If you are particularly keen on optimizing your online protection, you can even set PureVPN up to work with your routers, smart TVs, browsers like Chrome and Firefox and streaming services (like Roku, Amazon Fire, and Chromecast)

They’ve recently introduced a ‘virtual router’ feature for Windows devices, which means you can empower a Windows desktop or laptop with ‘router’-like features to connect up to 10 different devices.

Some VPN services, like VyprVPN for example, will only limit you to two different simultaneous connections. So the fact that you can connect PureVPN to a real router, in addition to setting up a ‘virtual router,’ means you can connect TONS of different devices. (Probably more than you’d ever want or need.)

They also have a ‘split-tunneling’ feature which means you can choose how (and where) you’d like to send traffic – through your VPN or internet service provider as usual. Your data can be split as needed.

While PureVPN doesn’t offer their own TOR, you can use one on top. Combining VPN’s with the Tor network to add an additional layer of privacy and security.

PureVPN has a kill switch feature that works like a fail-safe. The goal is to make sure your privacy and anonymity are never compromised, and that your personal information is never divulged.

Last but certainly not least, PureVPN comes with the NAT Firewall add-on so that all possible hacking loopholes are secured.

PureVPN Overview

OVERALL RANK: 53
USABILITY: Simple and easy to use
LOG FILES: Some Logging
LOCATIONS: 140+ countries, 2000+ servers
SUPPORT: Responsive Live Chat
TORRENTING: Allowed
NETFLIX: 2/4 Servers Worked with Netflix
ENCRYPTION/PROTOCOL: 256-bit AES; OpenVPN, L2TP/IPSec, PPTP, SSTP, and even IKEv2
COST: $3.33/mo
OFFICIAL WEBSITE: www.PureVPN.com

PureVPN Pros

1. Supports All Major Protocols (OpenVPN, IPSec, L2TP …)

‘Man-in-the-middle’ (MiTM) attacks are some of the oldest (and most common) ways that hackers gain access to your sensitive information.

You might not even sense that anything is wrong. But somehow, someway, someone has placed themselves between you and your intended connection (like a browser or a website).

They can then read your emails, see what websites you’re going to, grab your session cookies to fool different websites into thinking they’re you, and even get personal information or passwords.

Many times the very tools used to help intercept these practices, like WiFi Pineapple, can be used to perform them by anyone, anywhere. Like, sitting in your local coffee shop for instance. Now, browsing emails or booking a flight while sipping a latte can turn out to be not such a relaxing afternoon after all.

This potential risk now extends to mobile devices, apps, and even your smart devices too.

To combat these problems, PureVPN offers all major protocols, including OpenVPN, L2TP/IPSec, PPTP, SSTP, and even IKEv2.

While OpenVPN is your best bet to get both benefits from security and speed, you might also need to choose L2TP/IPSec based on device availability or PPTP (in only a few certain cases where you’re not as worried about security vulnerabilities).

2. Industry Standard 256-bit Encryption

Brute force attacks are another unfortunately common practice.

Hackers eventually figure out your passwords and pin numbers through a series of repetitive, lightning-fast, trial-and-error combinations.

They’re one of the oldest tricks in the book (besides simply guessing your spouse’s birthday or kid’s name). And they’re actually increasing.

For example, a recent wide-spread attack on WordPress sites has been directed by a Russian company being used by the country to launch cyber attacks (you can’t make this stuff up).

The best form of defense in this case, is prevention. That comes in the form of 256-bit encryption, which is one of the most secure connections possible. It is so secure that it is used by government agencies around the world.

Your encrypted tunnel gets sealed shut so that third-party sites, ISPs, and nefarious, shadowy organizations worthy of being the next Bond villain, can’t see what you’re up to.

In addition, your privacy and anonymity is completely safe thanks to their ‘end-to-end’ connection. This includes when you switch from one IP to another (or another, or another) across PureVPN’s 80,000+ options.

3. Some Pretty Cool Features

One of the things that I really liked about PureVPN is just how many features and options they offer their users.

For starters, they offer a kill switch, five simultaneous connections, support for all major protocols, DDoS protection, advanced port forwarding, split tunneling, and a NAT Firewall.

In fact, they provide such a plethora of ways to optimize and customize your VPN experience that it would make even the best VPN blush.

Unfortunately, while these services are great in theory they have some functionality issues that need to be worked out.

I personally experienced a killswitch failure and, after reviewing a number of forums and third-party reviews, realized that almost every customer has experienced some type of issue here or there with some of the features that PureVPN offers.

4. Unrestricted Torrenting

PureVPN is solidly pro-torrenting.

Why’s that noteworthy?

Because ever since copyright infringement lawsuits have began flooding the marketplace, more and more VPNs are shying away from P2P servers.

Often, the ones who do still offer torrenting-friendly servers only allow it on a small handful of offerings.

But PureVPN doesn’t have these restrictions.

You’re free to use torrenting on any of their servers. So download away!

5. Quick Live Chat Support with OK responses

When dealing with a VPN, your security is on the line. As such, you want to ensure that your questions and concerns can be addressed quickly and efficiently through a responsive customer support department.

When we first reviewed PureVPN, we were not happy with their support. While it offered live chat functionality, all of the responses seemed to be auto generated. However, PureVPN responded well to criticism and came back with a responsive and quick live chat system that directly addressed the questions I asked in under a minute.

I started off with a simple two-question approach. I wanted to know if users are able to utilize the TOR network, and I wanted to know what was being done to prevent DNS leaks.

PureVPN Live Chat Response

As you can see above and below, they responded quickly, but it felt like a typical form response. What followed the greeting was another answer that seemed to be a copy paste job.

However, once I clarified my questions, I received a much better answer.

PureVPN Live Chat Response

The responded with a simple statement regarding the TOR network, and I re-clarified that I had asked a second question.

PureVPN Live Chat Response

They responded to that with a link that allows users to test for DNS leaks.

PureVPN Live Chat Response

They didn’t go into specifics on how these issues were addressed, but the answer came quickly and it was helpful. I gave them definite props for that, especially when one considers where this service once was in terms of customer service.

It has improved by leaps and bounds.

4. 2/4 Netflix Servers Worked Properly

PureVPN claims to work with Netflix. That’s actually a bigger deal than you might think.

Netflix and VPNs have been at war for a few years. Whereas once users could utilize a VPN’s tunneling service to access geo-blocked Netflix content from other countries, the streaming service eventually caught onto this and unleashed a blocking system that stops most VPNs cold.

When we tested a select number of PureVPN’s servers with Netflix, we had a 50% success rate, which is huge!

Here are the four PureVPN servers that we connected to before checking Netflix:

  • United States: WORKED
  • Canada: WORKED
  • United Kingdom: BLOCKED
  • Netherlands: NO NL SERVER

Most VPNs out there can’t get any Netflix functionality, so the fact that we got two out of four to play Netflix content even almost places PureVPN on our Netflix-friendly VPN list. That’s a huge feather in the cap of this service.

PureVPN Cons

PureVPN is an affordable service, they have some cool features, and a great selection of servers. But there are a number of issues that potential users must take into account before they entrust this service with their internet security.

1. Slow Download Speed

Here’s a speed test I ran on speedtest.net to ensure the accuracy of this review. I then connected to PureVPN and ran these tests once more.

PureVPN performance test

Here are our results:

US Server (New York)
  • Ping: 125ms
  • Download: 29.41 Mbps
  • Upload: 29.06 Mbps
EU Server (Amsterdam)
  • Ping: 40ms
  • Download: 35.49 Mbps
  • Upload: 27.29 Mbps

Asia Server (Hong Kong)

  • Ping: 355ms
  • Download: 6.77 Mbps
  • Upload: 3.62 Mbps
UK Server (London)
  • Ping: 53ms
  • Download: 62.48 Mbps
  • Upload: 45.90 Mbps

Their Amsterdam server (the fastest that I could find) only topped out at 35 Mbps out of 100, which is not great.

That’s troubling when you consider that their top competitor, PIA, offers servers with more than double the download speed at a very similar price.

2. DNS, IPv4, and IPv6 Leaks

When you are in the market for a VPN, you are typically there for one reason and one reason only.

Security.

Whether you want to protect yourself when working from public wi-fi or bypass censorship laws in your country, personal security is (and should be) your primary concern when selecting a new VPN service.

Unfortunately for PureVPN, we encountered a few issues when checking their system for leaks.

I found countless instances of disgruntled customers who noticed that their DNS and personal IP address was being leaked while using Pure VPN’s services.

I decided to ask one of their customer service reps about the alleged issues.

IPV4 and IPV6 leaks Here’s how they responded.

PureVPN 24/7 live chat (nope)

While this response sounded oddly like an automated chat software and not a live representative (which I will touch on shortly), it also didn’t answer my question.

So, I inquired further and received the following response.

PureVPN Logging policy

Even though they allegedly resolved these issues, I found several reviews and customer complaints from around the same time with screenshots and testimonials proving otherwise.

If you are concerned about your security, you should probably find another VPN provider like ExpressVPN.

3. Their No Logs Policy Isn’t Completely True

PureVPN markets their product as a “Zero Logs” VPN.

However, if you read the fine print, you will quickly realize that this isn’t the case.

logging policy

So they don’t keep any logs BUT they do keep a record (a.k.a. a “Log”) of your connection and bandwidth?

I don’t always mind if a VPN company keeps certain logs in order to continually improve and optimize their service.

But when a company advertises zero logging, there should be zero logging.

Costs, Plans, and Payment Options

The first, and most noticeable ‘pro’ about using PureVPN is the price tag.

They’re still one of the cheapest VPNs on the market and offer a phenomenal price for customers on their 1-year plan.

Here’s how it all breaks down.

PureVPN pricing

Month-to-Month Plan

  • $10.95 per month
  • 0% Savings

3 Months Plan

  • $8.00 per month
  • 27% Savings

One Year Plan

  • $3.33 per month
  • 70% Savings

They also allow customers to purchase their service with almost every payment method imaginable (even Target gift cards). It’s nice to see untraceable crypto currencies listed as a payment option. This will allow users to pay with an untraceable online only form of currency. That’s a huge plus for VPN users who want to remain hidden.

PureVPN has lots of payment options

In addition to their budget-friendly pricing and wide array of payment options, all of their purchases come with a 31-day money-back guarantee.

Do I recommend PureVPN?

Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this service over many of the others that we’ve reviewed.

PureVPN offers an admittedly affordable service with a wide server selection. Their customer service department gave me a positive experience and it had a 50% success rate with Netflix. These are all great things that a VPN should strive to achieve.

However, their service had a serious lack of speed and that is a problem. While they claim to log nothing whatsoever, there is some limited logging going on, which places their trustworthiness in question. These factors together are enough to give me pause.

I recommend using NordVPN – it’s in the same price range, but you get a quality product you can trust (you can read the review here). If you’re budget-sensitive, try using Surfshark – $1.99/mo (review here).

Add your own review

Have you ever used PureVPN before? If so, what was your experience like? I’m always interested to hear what other enthusiasts have to say about the VPNs that I review! Let me know below.

To keep up the quality content on our website, we only accept user reviews that provide valuable information for our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you want your review to be accepted, please write a helpful, informative and unique review - either positive or negative. Thank you for your support!

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

80 user reviews for PureVPN

Avatar

Brendan 5/10 August 27, 2019

A Necessary Evil

Basically, I have 16 different connections with PureVPN. All of them have the add-on for a dedicated UK IP address. Is there any other company out there that offers dedicated UK IP's? It's my understanding that their isn't...but if there is a better option than Pure I'd love to hear it. I'm sick of the customer service. Email support is slow and live chat is staffed by people who clearly struggle with the English Language. If they can't understand what you want/need then they just fob you off. I spend $1000 a year with this company and it doesn't feel like they are that bothered to have me as a customer.

Avatar

S. 1/10 August 17, 2019

Gave thumbs down after a support chat, one minute later email from Paypal saying they suspended my account

Couldn't connect to their service all day - so finally went to website and used online chat - told me to change connection protocol, this worked. I asked if I had to guess which protocol to use each time I connect - no answer. I said exactly "thanks for nothing", disconnected, rated chat a thumbs down. No swears, nothing aggressive, just three words "thanks for nothing".

One minute later, email from Paypal saying automatic payment was suspended:

"GZ Systems Limited has suspended your automatic payments. Contact GZ Systems Limited for more details or to reactivate your payments."

Went back to online chat, "Abbot" claims there was nothing wrong and that this was standard practice by Paypal and nothing to do with them. Since we all know that isn't true, and wow, what a coincidence, the suspension came one minute after said online chat.

Apparently PureVPN uses spastic babies for online support. Stay far far away, and if you don't, make sure you bring sugar and roses to the online chat, otherwise they will get offended and cry.

Avatar

Ron 3/10 August 10, 2019

It's bad 🙂

If you are using this on a windows laptop it works ok. I am using this on a synology and they are making it impossible to keep it running. Their list of usable servers is out of date, their manuals are out of date or wrong and their downloads (not the apps, the Linux stuff) contain configuration files that don't work anymore. They are doing the bare minimum to lure non-app users to their subscription. I spend a lot (too much..) of time trying to make the solution more stable, but they keep changing things server side, without informing users. So for now: it's broken again, and I'm going to leave it that way. Better to spend some more money for a service that delivers than to keep trying to fix things 🙂

Avatar

Yang 1/10 August 1, 2019

Don’t use it in china

Very painful to use in China. I have talked to 4 tech guys in the past week and none of them fixed my issue. Then I was told to seek help from a guy called Bill. I tried to reach him on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday when I was always told he was not available! I finally had a 3 hours remote session with him last night but he failed to solve my case. He told me to come back tonight. So I did but I was told he is not available again!

They do not have any respect for my time!

Avatar

Lee 10/10 July 25, 2019

Slower but secure

I have been using PureVPN for awhile now. It gets the job done 100% of the time. I can rely on PureVPN plus it was the best bang for buck.

It is secure but I have noticed DNS leaks and GEOlocation leaks randomly etc. I usually test it is working before going to my target site. I manually flip to other PureVPN servers when needed until the leak is plugged. Resolving with PureVPN means I disconnect and reconnect to a city or country to ensure the geolocation is working or if the load is excessive on one PureVPN server.

This part is a manual process but does get the job done.

PureVPN was one of the few VPNs which worked with the BBC streaming. The BBC uses heuristics so is always moving the goalposts. With manual config of PureVPN, it always manage to stream from the BBC or download. The BBC iplayer does blacklist or block IP addresses after return visits using the same server.

What I tested and discovered is the VPNs have different capabilities but only the best can access certain sites like BBC iplayer from outside the UK and fully work. PIA failed. TunnelBear failed. All the antivirus VPNs failed.

I didn't test NordVPN. I didn't test ExpressVPN.

PureVPN is much slower than without using the VPN. eg. Up to 20 Mbps slower with download speeds. So if you are streaming, you do need a minimum speed for it to work after the VPN overhead.

I have found some websites actively monitor for VPN servers and then blacklist the IP address. eg. BBC, cloudflare, gumtree, etc....so this is not the VPN software as an issue....more Big brother geo spying interference.

I reported this once to PureVPN for a blacklisted PureVPN IP. It wasn't immediate but they strapped up another server and IP address. Issue resolved by PureVPN as the new IP wasn't blacklisted. I just had to report it to PureVPN support via email. ( no instant fix) Support did fix it.

Netflix...Never used it but if BBC works, Netflix will definitely work using PureVPN. So long as the remaining download speed is adequate after PureVPN loads, streaming will work.

I am surprised by the OP comments about Netflix....I believe the OP was relying on a fully automated VPN... relying on PureVPN doing everything automatically. But these cable TV services use sophisticated Interference algos to block. Manual mode will work with PureVPN, user intervention is required though. Respectfully, I don't believe the OP was using PureVPN properly with Netflix.

Whilst PureVPN has a lot of other features....they are optional extras...which you have to pay extra for.

A lot of other programs and apps leave breadcrumbs(signatures) ... which can trigger blocking on repeat visits.

Summary...PureVPN works and is reliable for getting you onto that website for streaming,downloads or forums posting. Manual mode/config is required sometimes to achieve the result. The download speed does decrease by up to 20 Mbps. (that can affect streaming video quality) They don't have as many VPN servers as other VPNs.( maybe why they are slower?) Which is why I don't use PureVPN for trusted verified local websites. Occasional DNS leaking confirmed. I manually test regularly as I do not use the kill switch feature and manually turn on. It does fully work with BBC iPlayer from outside the UK. ( so it should work with Netflix also)

PureVPN may not be the fastest but it is a very capable VPN for the price. It is very reliable in manual mode. It has advanced features beyond the scope of the average person.

Avatar

Andrea 1/10 July 13, 2019

Terrible

I signed up a few days ago when my old VPN expired. As they had a 30 day refund I thought it would be ok to try them. I cannot use Netflix at all, errors for any country I chose. I decided to cancel and get a refund. Arghhhh. The worst process I have ever encountered trying to cancel. Online chat can't help so you have to email. I'm up to email reply number 5 now. They keep offering help, extra time, words words words....but no cancellation as yet. Each email ends with "but if you still want to cancel let us know..." So I email again saying CANCEL NOW....and they reply with another templated answer. I'm starting to think I won't be able to get my money back. Stay away from this company, very dodgy practices.

Avatar

Ref iss 1/10 July 11, 2019

Refund Issues

After paying, tried to connect to Pure in China, did a bit of troubleshooting, still nothing. So I go to cancel and get my refund 7 days ago. I have to email someone "asking" to get a refund when the policy I purchased clearly says I'm entitled to it. After that, I get sent some weird cat picture that's supposed to be... encouraging? No idea. I've been pinballed around to FOUR different people in 1 week, and STILL don't have a refund. Last I was told was that the "refunds department are going to look into it." What? "look into it?" What is it, if they can be sued or not? So frustrating, terrible company.

Avatar

Andy 7/10 June 26, 2019

Used to like it, now I'm unsure...

I have used this service for a couple years now. Everything was actually going nice and smooth, I use a VPN for online gaming due to the fact that there are toxic players that DDoS you offline if they get salty. So I thought the PureVPN would be an alright service I can use to hide my IP from those players. As I stated the first two years things were actually going very smooth, no problems other than a switching IP disconnect here and there as I learned to get used to it.

It all started a couple days ago, when I try to connect to my PS4 with my VPN, I could not connect, I reset my custom connection settings and that fixed the problem only for a new one to arise as I had a NAT type error, I did turn off my VPN, when I turned it off I was able to connect just fine, which came to the conclusion that it was the VPN that was having problems and not my router. So I contacted support and chatted and I have noticed a trend of the chat service keep closing, which kind of frustrated me, when we tried the generic stuff like switching servers and such which did not help at all, the chat operator created a support ticket for me. Which did not help either.

The techies there gave me the same solutions as before just with different servers and I stated that I was having NAT type error which wouldn't let me connect online, after following an article they sent me to fix the NAT type error, none of them work and I even did a fourth solution on upgrading the firmware. Then I get this message "I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. It is to inform you that this case we are not able to resolve this issue as your NAT type issue can't be resolved with the VPN" So I think I pretty much have given up on PureVPN. It used to work so well but now no, once my subscription ends, I will no longer renew it, I need to find a VPN that can let me game online. I don't think I can recommend this VPN to anyone.

TL;DR: Used PureVPN for a couple years, worked great until NAT Type error happens and support said they can't do anything about it after countless attempts to help.

Avatar

Dave 10/10 May 23, 2019

No Problems

I used ExpressVPN but was looking for one that didn't come under the 9/5 eyes. PureVPN was one choice that didn't come under those jurisdictions, at least I hope they don't 😉 Since I use Linux, I was more concerned with my online security, I installed the service and got it up and running in no time. The download speeds are adequate for my use and a DNS leak test reveals there isn't one, as for logging, they only log the connection and bandwidth which is hardly a security breach. I just wanted a VPN service that worked and for me PureVPN does the job.

Avatar

Steve 1/10 May 22, 2019

False representation

I purchased their service last night. I spent over 4 hours of chat time with their tech support to complete set up. Today I went to use their service and I found it did not work. My ISP was being identified and as such denied the service I was trying to avail myself of from Australia. I am in the states and they said the IP should show Australia.

Avatar

Butch Gmyr 8/10 April 26, 2019

It’s good

I have had good results using PureVPN, and whenever I encounter a glitch, the service is fast and courteous. What else can I say. Updates improving service are adequate.

Avatar

Greg T 1/10 April 23, 2019

Rubbish service

It worked with BBC IPlayer for just over 12 months, but the last 2 months it hasn’t. It does not work with Eurosport, they deliver commentaries in Spanish the same as when not using a VPN. Customer service is very poor. They are deceptive in asking you how you feel about the service and then immediately directing you to a review site if you mark your experience as happy. No link when you are not happy!!

Avatar

Jason 3/10 April 23, 2019

Cancellation is a headache

Even if the service were perfect, occasionally people's financial situations change. There is absolutely no way to see what payment method is currently being used within your PureVPN account info, and the only way to cancel their service is to submit a form.

The first thing you will get back (as I did) is an email redundantly asking you to request cancellation again, and an offer to....oh well here just read it:

You are requested to please share the reason of quitting our services along with the purpose of using PureVPN so that we may check and guide you with the best possible solutions if you are experiencing any issue as far as our services are concerned.

I didn't want any solutions they may have had on offer, I wanted them to cancel future payments on my account (I was on a biennial subscription and had already paid for those two years). I don't even trust companies that don't have an easy means of cancelling their services.

Avatar

Ken 5/10 April 22, 2019

Really?

I bought the lifetime subscription. Everything was OK ... at first. And then I got a recording playing over and over again with advertising and Roy Hogdson and Frank Lampard talking about football. I could only get rid of this annoyance by turning PureVPN off.

Avatar

KG 1/10 April 21, 2019

Fake location and SLOW...

I noticed recently whatever servers I connected are all fake locations. Canada becomes USA, Hongkong and other weird locations. One other thing that's very annoying, slows down the speed - less than 10Mbps. Been locked for the service for TWO years. Now is the time to change to another VPN service. AVOID Purevpn!

Avatar

chityong 1/10 April 08, 2019

Claim for china server connection is not true

From their homepage they are still claiming to be the best vpn to china for streaming, but in fact china server connection has being down for a long time and they just reply they are trying to resolve this "technical issue" . DO not subscript to purevpn if you are looking for china vpn connection. It is the cheapest in town, but not working at all so what the point if you are looking for the purpose.

Avatar

Andrew Breese 8/10 March 27, 2019

Non techy thoughts

I purchased PureVPN for a static IP address. I have had issues where the dedicated IP changed but was sorted quickly. I paid for a service for 12 months and then got advertising for PureVPN at a cheaper rate. I challenged this and they extended my contract by 2 years. I used the live chat tonight and definitely got a real person. Support tickets are answered quickly. I have no trouble on my android and occasionally have to change network type on my pc.

Avatar

John 1/10 March 20, 2019

Purevpn Support at its worst!!!

Lately, I've been having Internet connectivity problems when connected to Purevpn. I've tried changing VPN Protocols, VPN type, uninstall/reinstall Purevpn, flushing my DNS cache, release/renew IP, resetting router, changing normal Windows 10 DNS settings. etc. *Today, I contacted support chat and the tech remoted to my computer and asked me to disable my firewall and antivirus. I did, and in the background unseen to me, he opened a VPN connection. Then, wrote BYE in the chat window and disconnected the support chat without letting me know anything. Was I to expect to use the VPN without firewall protection or antivirus? HTF should I know? Guess? I re-contacted support and wrote my experience and again writing the problem. the Sr. Support person forwarded me over to the same person that said BYE on the chat. I said NO, but they did it anyway. I asked the original suport person what he expected me to know or do without him communicating it to me. He wrote that he had already established a VPN connection, which solved the problem and there was no reason for him to stay on the chat. He then said that since the VPN connection worked, he no longer need to stay on the chat; it was fixed. NOT! I still didn't have Internet connectivity. PureVPN support SUCKS! Their product SUCKS, and their SUPPORT SUCKS!!! Stay away from PureVPN!!! I, like many other people got suckered into the 5-year promo. Do yourself a favor and DON'T buy PureVPN!

Avatar

Guest_MKII 1/10 February 17, 2019

GARBAGE!

Stay FAR away from PureVPN: Bought a lifetime plan via StackSocial a few years back for ca.$55,- I think, and STILL to this day regret using money on them: PureVPN is unstable, they leak information, and there is no help to get from their "Customer service"! Today PureVPN have lost the connection to their servers almost TWENTY TIMES in LESS than five hours!!!!!

Avatar

Jessica 1/10 February 12, 2019

USELESS

ABSOLUTELY APPALLING. This service has never worked for me for more than a short period and then I have to endure going through the awful experience of contacting their Customer Support Team. Them replying using the same script then follows and of course THE issue is never properly resolved. Such a waste of my money and even more annoyingly my time having to online chat to people in Hong Kong that have no idea how to fix the issue. Don't do it to yourself it is PAINFUL.

Avatar

AJ 2/10 January 27, 2019

PureVPN REVIEW

I got sucked into the five year deal. Told PureVPN the day of purchase it wasn’t working with Netflix and I wanted to cancel my membership. The request was not honored. Customer service is very poor and after 3 months I am still unable to play Netflix. Beware, I expect PureVPN will go out of business.

Avatar

Scott 1/10 January 20, 2019

Refund is a blatant lie

I spent quite a long time with customer support trying to get Netflix to work in my first day of service on a windows machine and an ipad. It would not work so I asked for a refund and they did not comply.

Avatar

Peter 9/10 January 16, 2019

PureVPN works well

I am an IT professional. I recommend PureVPN as it works...although slower than some.

I tested several VPN software apps....heavily. I found many did just did not work after specific tests were run by me. PIA did not work at all in terms of privacy. I did request and receive a refund as the vpn has to work.

PureVPN has several modes ...advanced setting. If you select the wrong mode...you may have issues. Once you select the correct mode for your usage, you will have excellent results. Eg. Select Streaming for streaming. Privacy for higher privacy.

I agree PureVPN can seem slower....but works....which is the most important thing. Note. I always test my IP location and DNS leak test independently to PureVPN. I experienced it doesn’t always work with the Proxy. That is when you report that proxy to PureVPN.

I find it is not the VPN ...but the level of the spying technology from the millions of web servers using geolocation...which is incorporated into the latest browsers. Eg. Webrtc etc. Add in Spectre and Meltdown hacks...to get a real sense of the level of data collection from multiple companies and actors.

It will work with Netflix for sure also....but you must test the cloaking is working first. Netflix, BBC are proactively adversarial against VPN software. AI algorithms used for blocking. Testing cloaking is working is essential before attempting Netflix as most websites use CDN providers which Also apply geolocation blocking heavily. I have streamed internationally with PureVPN successfully.

ExpressVPN and NordVPN may also be good but I haven't tested those as they were more expensive for multiple concurrent connections. PureVPN gives 5 concurrent connections ...which can be used on Windows! Android and IOS.

I was actually blocked locally, within my country as the website believed I was within another country. Only certain features of the website failed to load. This was because the NBN rollout was occurring nationally....and the website themselves denied service to legitimate customers.

PureVPN works.

You do have to pay extra for the advanced features. I agree with the misleading advertising of the extras.

Overall, PureVPN works... Haven’t seen the download speed faster than approx 20 Mbps though. ...which is the upload speed of their proxy servers it would seem.Lastly, I have no affiliation with PureVPN other than after the free trial, I purchased their service, once I tested and proved it worked well. I would say I am a lot more technical than most. As an expat, I have many international internet requirements on an ongoing basis. I hope this helps others.

Avatar

JW 2/10 January 5, 2019

PureVPN changed their service

Port-Forward service is no longer included. It is now an addon that cost as much as the service itself. So they now have firewalled their ports and charge you double to open any of the ports again via their addon service.

Avatar

Paul 10/10 January 2, 2019

Super service

I have to disagree with almost everything in this review. I have found PureVPN customer service really good. I've never had any issues with Netflix. I have absolutely no leaking DNS or otherwise. I find the software stable. I was a PIA user amongst others over the years and have found pureVPN to be the most reliable. I subscribed to the three-year plan, there was a slight overlap with my previous plan which was refunded promptly and efficiently. So not quite sure what this reviewers beef is...

Avatar

SC Monroe 1/10 January 1, 2019

Server "timed out"

Nord has been a reliable VPN for the last year of my subscription however, the system "timed out" when trying to connect to the US servers on New Year's eve. This is a big problem. In addition, the available alternate servers worldwide have been drastically reduced. Not good!

Product support: non-existent.

Avatar

Michael McGinnis 1/10 December 11, 2018

PureVPN Is Worthless

I've tried to get PureVPN to work reliably ever since I bought it. In 8 months of multiple tech support contacts per week they have never been able to get PureVPN to work for 3 days in a row. Usually they cannot maintain a connection for 15 minutes at a time. Their customer support is worthless and they don't seem to care.

Avatar

Dan 1/10 December 6, 2018

purevpn stinks!!!

I was happy to see this, was beginning to think it was just me. This is the first VPN service I've used and I made the mistake of buying 2 yrs. I won't make that mistake again. I didn't know that customer service could get that bad, till I used Purevpn. I'm thinking I'll just let them have the last 6 months that are left. I'm going to try another service. People please do yourselves a favor, STAY AWAY from purevpn.

Avatar

Dave 3/10 December 2, 2018

Bad, unreliable VPN

I ended up dropping PureVPN for three reasons: 1) the service was unreliable and the kill switch mechanism didn’t work
2) the user interface was a disaster. It was convoluted and difficult to figure out how to use the features it advertised
3) the customer service was horrendous. At one point the company arbitrarily reset my password to the original temporary password they gave me when I made the account. I couldn’t use the VPN until I carved out an hour to spend on chat with the robot “live agent” to get it fixed. Don’t get PureVPN.

Avatar

Alex 1/10 December 1, 2018

Forget Streaming with PureVPN

My primary reason for using this provider was access to BBC iPlayer Netflix Uk. Amazon Video UK. via an Asus Router and as of November 2018 I have Zero connectivity. Their 24/7 help desk is equally absurd, when you chat with them they provide a list of servers which rarely work or if they do the stop within a week to 10 days. It normally finishes with a message that they are working on the problem and will get back to you within 24 hours, needless to say this does not happen, Bottom line if you want to stream forget this provider.

Avatar

Frank Mill 5/10 November 16, 2018

PureVPN is no good on iOS devices

I had a two-year plan with PureVPN. It was very slow all the time on any servers worldwide. But even more irritating was the fact, that the VPN connection on my two iPads were lost every now and then without notice. The main purpose of VPN is reliable encryption of communication and a hidden IP address. PureVPN did not deliver. Never ever again. My new VPN service provider works just fine. It is fast and not a single drop of connection occurred in three days. Looks good so far.

Avatar

Rod Craine 1/10 November 15, 2018

I got a lifetime subscription of Garbage

I bought a lifetime subscription 3 years ago from stack commerce. Didn't work when I bought it. Doesn't work today... I keep thinking maybe they will come around and have a working product. Guess I should have known better..

Avatar

Themba 1/10 November 14, 2018

Disappointing. Poor customer service

Service is fine until its stops working or you have connection issues. Their customer service is not helpful. They are unable to diagnose the issues and will try get you to install the software or other equally unhelpful options. If you are a dev or need to use this for serious work then forget this service. Pay premium with another provider. Disappointed customer.

Avatar

Nick Kennedy 9/10 November 1, 2018

Thank you and Windscribe comment

Mr. Smith: Thank you for this detailed review and your recommendations. Really helpful and appreciated. Debunking the no-logging pitch was super helpful - deceived even some really tech-expert friends of mine. Will try the alternatives you recommend. Currently using Windscribe on one PC. Kind of a random purchase but do have to say the overhead is undetectable - have not seen ANY performance lag. Best regards, Nick

Avatar

E 4/10 October 18, 2018

If you're in China AVOID it

I purchased this vpn for 2 years as I'm working in China.

In the beginning i had only 2 servers available and working. Then suddenly they stop to work and they didn't even send an email to explain what was going on.

While they were working, the servers were very slow and unstable. It was a nightmare work in that conditions.

If you're in China look for something else

Avatar

Good Batiatus 8/10 October 6, 2018

why so negative ?

I've had PUREVPN for over a year, and in the main their service is good. Connection speeds are just fine, and their technical support has helped me resolve issues over a number of devices, and emailed me files to allow me to use a separate application to manage the VPN. Their mobile app can be a bit hit and miss, but its not the end of the world for me. For the price, ability to use multiple devices, and use VPN within a browser add-on, they are just fine

Avatar

Hiroku Saikaru 1/10 September 28, 2018

Crap

I initially had a 2-year plan with PureVPN and it was excellent. When the time for renewal I did not hesitate to continue with their service, in fact, I was so happy with the service that I purchased a lifetime subscription. To quote Pretty Woman, Big mistake, huge! It sucks, to say the least. The connection speed is atrociously slow, there are issues connecting and it is constantly going offline and to add insult to injury, customer service is useless. Last week I finally capitulated and purchased a new service - one that actually works, unlike PureVPN.

Avatar

Phil Richardson 1/10 September 12, 2018

PureVPN non-support of Wouter/Roqos Core RC10

Purchased a Wouter via the PureVPN web site - Roqos Core RC10 came instead. No manual or instructions for router or app. Asked for customer support via live chat with support link. Told to email them directly. Provided detailed account of my actions and questions. Got one email back asking whether I had a Wouter or Roqos Core router. Responded. Sent multiple emails, had multiple chats, multiple 'I'm sorry, but ...' and no further help. Even received an automated CS followup asking how satisfied I was with their service -- what a joke! Have requested multiple times for help, elevation of the problem to senior managers, return authorization number and pre-paid mailing label plus full refund. Just received the standard 'nothing we can do but refer you to others' bs. This is a big con. Steer clear. As for PureVPN software, I am still not sure it works all that well, but I do get to US servers, but am blocked from content on Amazon Prime Video. Look elsewhere is my advice.

Avatar

Dean Hills 1/10 August 31, 2018

Pure Rubbish Indeed

I completely concur with the review by Chris Nation. This is exactly my experience too. I'm also signed up for two years. I've always had issues with PureVPN but for a while it was working more than not working and I battled on. But off late the software isn't working at all. Tonight I battled to get the Dashboard to work - then when I finally could type in the city, It wouldn't connect. I tried a number of cities and it couldn't connect for any of them. I tried at least an hour - and it was an hour wasted. I guess now I have to go through more hours of trying to trouble shoot through the mess - and I guess like the last time a few months ago it will be Windows's fault. The last time I had to undo all of my security updates and haven't been updating my windows since then. Wonder what the excuse is going to be this time round.

Avatar

Rob 1/10 August 30, 2018

Tried to brute-force my Google account using credentials they harvested while I was connected to the VPN

PureVPN is garbage. Utter, utter garbage. It should be illegal. Appallingly slow to open, to connect to server, etc. Says it unblocks streaming geo-location restrictions for Netflix, but only does so about once in every fifteen attempts.

Today I received a notice from Google saying someone had attempted to access my account. It told me the IP, which turns out to be registered to GZ Systems Limited, a.k.a the Hong Kong company responsible for PureVPN. Which means only one thing.

My browsing data while I was connected to the app was not protected. PureVPN, or whoever they sold my information to, harvested my login credentials. Sod this company. Stay. a. way.

Avatar

Richard Pedley 6/10 August 27, 2018

No p2p servers in North America. What????

I use a VPN almost exclusively for p2p file-sharing. First thing I notice when choosing a country is that Canada, the US, and Mexico are not on the list. wtf?? How can I possibly get decent speeds when the nearest servers are in Europe, Asia, South America, etc? I'll try it out for a while, but I'm already regretting switching from ExpressVPN (which is not a "bit more expensive", it's about $135CAD per year! That's why I dropped it).

Avatar

harry 8/10 August 26, 2018

I quite like them

Used them for several years and overall happy, what lets them down is their support, NO ONE seems to understand simple English and you ask question after question and get a bog standard response because they haven't a clue what you're asking - a real shame!

Avatar

Larry Cutshaw 1/10 August 25, 2018

PureVPN Poor Cusiomer Service and Support

I have complained numerous times to PureVPN support about not being able to connect through their servers to other websites. Instead of fixing the server configuration issues, they want me use an dedicated IP which sometimes works and sometimes doesn’t to access some websites. Poor support and poor service. Stay away!

Avatar

Chris Nation 1/10 July 29, 2018

Pure rubbish

It all started so well. A cheap deal for 2 years' sub. Worked with the reason I have a VPN - connection to BBCi Player. Then it started to drop out, lose connection, became totally unstable and unreliable. I spent hours on chat with customer service but they were of no help whatsoever. In the end I was happy to walk away, leaving my 2 year sub in Pure's bank account rather than continue with the unreliable connection and useless c/s

Avatar

Abdul Rohim 1/10 July 25, 2018

Do not buy it with Paypal, didn’t get my money back

Hey, I am a legit customer of PureVPN and I am not satisfied with their services, (I had a problem with max login attempt), I don't know how many logins they allow and also their servers are really slow sometimes, for example server in Indonesia and Malaysia are very slow, to be honest I don't like them, they denied to give me a refund when I dispute the paypal, they deny because I have exceed the max login and Quota, but they didn’t tell me before about this policy. My advice.. just don't go with them, use another reliable VPN Service.. or if you can use credit card and charge back via your bank if you not satisfied with them

Avatar

Thelma 1/10 July 25, 2018

if you're from China, do not use PureVPN 中国用户不要购买pureVPN

I subscribed to PureVPN for 2 years, probably one of the stupidest thing I’ve done. The connection was initially good. But there are more and more issues along the way (I’m now in the 3rd month using it). They don’t effectively solve the issues for you but claiming it’s China who enhanced their firewall – and they have been using the same excuse every time I couldn’t connect. I do believe China has done and is doing things to make it harder. But the other service my friend is using, and I regularly “borrow” to use when PureVPN sucks works fine. At least for those who are in China, DO NOT USE PUREVPN!
中国用户不要购买 PureVPN的服务。每次有问题都用中国的防火墙加强了来搪塞,但其实我使用的朋友所购买的另一个VPN服务并没有问题。解决问题不及时,客服也不给力,只会重复同样的话。一生黑!

Avatar

Sid 7/10 July 24, 2018

Cancellation easy and usage difficult

I found that this VPN seem to be user-friendly 4 protection at first. It was in fact slow. The billing was three years for sixty-eight dollar or so which is a great deal and is no longer an option. Canceling: I found to be difficult however it was fast I recommend using PayPal if you decide to go with them.

Avatar

Henry 2/10 July 7, 2018

Own experience

Cheap, but rubbish! Many server locations, most of which never establish a (stable) connection and most of them are virtual. No VPN over SSL possible and DNS leaks keep appearing, in spite of so-called solutions.

PureVPN handed over their logs to the FBI some time ago. How can one hand over logs that supposedly do not exist?

Avatar

Kareem Hamza 9/10 July 7, 2018

I recommend purevpn

I am now 12 months with purevpn, I tried all VPN software I reached, they are the best. I am testing website ad campaigns from different regions in Middle East, working like a charm from Morocco, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Emirates, Turkey.

Avatar

Ivan 1/10 July 6, 2018

First VPN Service I use, not happy.

At first, couple of months ago, it was great. Speeds were not bad, and I could use my internal network during connection so I can move a file between computers. Then an update made everything terrible. I could not connect to my internal network, the download speeds became super slow and now when I try to connect to say, Belgium, it connects me to Argentina !!!????

Uninstalled…

Avatar

Mike 3/10 July 4, 2018

Not very Good

This VPN leaks DNS!!

I contacted support with screenshots showing the DNS leak and they just sent me a link to another website that displayed fewer DNS servers, that way the leak wasn’t showing, but the other site did!

Connection times are bad, some servers disappear forever and the connection crashes often. Plus the “no logs” bullshit sounds dangerous. Killswitch is crap, once it crashes it goes again to OFF so you have to set it ON again, if you forget about it it will be OFF forever.

Not recommended.

Avatar

Paul 10/10 June 7, 2018

PureVPN dedicated ip

I have had pureVPN for months now and their service is superb. The customer support they offer is also a 10/10.

If you are looking for ddos protection for xXox one etc, look no further then purevpn. The price, support, reliability, and anonymity is extremely good. I do not see why people rate this VPN poorly. I use it on my phone, and two pc’s at once and works great. I have tried express VPN, hidemyass, etc and I cannot find a better vpn then PureVPN. Not to mention the other’s don’t offer DDOS protection and for me, that was a main reason to get a VPN.

Avatar

Jonathan Wood 1/10 June 3, 2018

Sketchy company

I opened an account – the 1 year plan – with PureVPN in Nov 2017.

I used the service for a couple of months and then went dormant for quite a while. The servers were slow and unreliable at the time. It is now June 2018 and I tried to log into my account and use the service. I was kicked off and informed that my account had been suspended pending payment verification. For a payment that had been processed 8 months ago.

I contacted their 24/7 chat and they sent me a payment verification email requesting a photo of my card… for a payment 8 months old. Sketchy.

Avatar

sheskito 1/10 May 21, 2018

dishonest

I have used PureVPN to stream content with region protection. The server worked which is why I rated it 2.

My problem is that PureVPN suspended my account without telling me why and I still don’t understand what happened (I would be even OK to pay for more bandwidth) and continue to charge me through iTunes for 5 months. There is no way to cancel the service through PureVPN app. I have to go to iTunes to discontinue the payment.

Avatar

M 1/10 May 15, 2018

Horrible, next please

Wish I wouldn’t have bought it. I bought PureVPN for features that it claimed to have, but that are left out of the Mac OS X version, like Split Tunneling; this is stated no where I can find, ever.

They weaseled out of the 7-day money back guarantee because I paid with Bitcoin. They claim they refund Bitcoin, but not if you use the particular Bitcoin payment method I used; you must use the other option… this was not explained clearly anywhere near the giant money back guarantee letters. Should have read all of the negative reviews first; they are spot on.

Avatar

Luuta 1/10 April 28, 2018

Looks like a scam

Got a lifetime subscription through Android Central for £50 or so. Never worked properly, but became increasingly unreliable with time.

Slow to the point it wouldn’t respond, dropping connection, crashing phone. Wouldn’t work with public hotspots, often said it was working but various websites knew exactly where I was. Eventually gave up on it as being useless.

It seems they hook you, then over a period of a couple of weeks deliberately shut the service down. I presume limited resources and data theft are the key reasons for the apparent behaviour.

Avoid like the plague.

Avatar

anonymous 1/10 April 20, 2018

sell your privacy

They sold one of their customer logs to FBI, and he got arrests.

No one should EVER use a company like this!

Avatar

Fours 6/10 March 31, 2018

Works for what I need.

Have always got the speed I’ve paid my isp for with PureVPN, however, I use a dedicated server, and do notice a drop in speed when using other random servers. Their customer service has always helped me when needed. Their prices are very cheap and cover multiple devices, even mobile in public networks (however it is balls slow usually).

I rated low only because I truly thought there were no logs and I want VPN for anonymity. I consider the No Logging advertising as lying after this article. Will not recommend. Will gladly pay more for true anonymity.

Avatar

Mark Hay 10/10 March 26, 2018

Never failed to impress

The service has been good and met/exceeded what I’d expect throughout my 4 years as a customer. Recommended to those are going for PureVPN

Avatar

Dafydd Hewes 1/10 March 13, 2018

Very poor experience

Miserable. I fought, and I mean fought with PureVPN for 2 months. Tried to get it configured onto 4 different DD-WRT routers that all work fine. Tried to get it to work on a ChromeBook, on a Linux system, on some Android devices. IOW a slew of experience with PureVPN. Forget it. Would not stay connected on the routers, on Android devices. Setup was a nightmare, and I am a techie. I could go on and on. I went to Private Internet Access (PIA). Worked first time. Every time. Stays connected. Across all devices. End game was I burned a lot of time trying across several environments. No way would I recommend it. On any level. Tech support was dismal. Forget it folks. Trust me when I say, FORGET IT.

Avatar

Dakotah 2/10 March 11, 2018

Initially Recommended but DO NOT Now

I initially was happy with this VPN service as it was simple, easy to install, and was fast enough for what I needed. However, I will not be renewing after my 2-yr membership runs out in July 2018 as the app does not work after I restart my computer forcing me to redownload the PureVPN app EVERY TIME I restart. Customer service was no help (imagine that.) Additionally, speeds and general reliability have declined significantly. Oftentimes, the only servers I can access are USA regardless of all the options of countries.

Avatar

Henry Spencer 1/10 March 5, 2018

Total garbage VPN

Purchased the service because kids need to watch Australian television programs in Minnesota. SSTP is terrible. L2TP does not work at ALL. Support service is worthless. Do not get this crap VPN. I don’t know which to use for my MacBook Pro.

Avatar

Rachel Pollock 8/10 March 1, 2018

It all worked out

I was having a lot of frustrations with the Google Chrome and adding extensions. I will say that the VPN is not very user friendly but they the chat option and the customer service was very good. I spent some time trying on my own and could not figure out how to get other streaming sites like Hulu to work. Kayne was very patient and helpful and we eventually figured it out. I’m not very computer saavy but like to stream he was very nice even with my Internet shoddiness and the session cutting out a few times. I’m very happy that he was persistent with my issue and kept trying to find a solution. Thank you Kayne!

Avatar

Brigitte 9/10 February 27, 2018

pretty good service

I have been with VPN for over a year, at 1st I was having problems then contacted chat which at 1st i wasnt impressed with cause I was having issues but they did help me fix my problem with connecting & ive had no issues since & have been able to enjoy downloading without the worries of getting certain emails from my internet company. Only thing i would check into when signing up is the auto renewal which i wasnt aware of & had the help of getting them to remove it. I just upgraded to the 3yr plan & am very satisfied with the help i got, I recommend them:)

Avatar

Serhat 2/10 February 21, 2018

Terrible!

I have been using PureVPN for a few months already. It was quite good in the beginning, but lately it has been a disaster. Extremely slow speeds as well as connection drops all the time. I have emailed with them for 1-2 weeks but couldn’t get a proper solution. Migrating to another VPN service at the end. I highly recommend you to stay away from PureVPN.

Avatar

Lucas 1/10 February 3, 2018

money back scam

I hired the pureVPN service after seeing some positive reviews. Unbelievably there are sites with positive reviews.

I used it for 3 days it was terrible. Disconnect continuously, extremely slow.

Soon I started using another VPN to check if the problem was my internet bandwidth and we verified that it was not.
I asked for the PureVPN cancellation and was told that they could not as I had exceeded the 3GB of data! They don’t tell you that before the service.

I’ll probably have to ask for the payment reverse in the credit card company.

Avatar

Yar 2/10 January 22, 2018

Horrible

MANY connectivity issues, it starts great, then line drops, no internet, no email, only once you disconnect, EVERYTHING gets back to normal. Working with it is inconsistent, cannot maintain a lasting connection. When trying to get a solution from Tech Support, they only address you to a link already in their website, and some other solutions such as “switch protocol”, “change DNS” etc.

Bottom line, it is slow, extremely unstable, and cannot be worked with.

Avatar

Che 1/10 January 15, 2018

VERY Slow

I totally agree with this review! This PureVPN is really slow… I’m not able to stream something smoothly when I’m connected to one of their middle-east servers (tried all of them!). This is unacceptable. And even worse, I think they have some priority rules setted to make you believe it’s pretty fast during their cashback/refund policy. During this period I didn’t have any issue streaming something through their middle-east servers. I would definitely not recommend PureVPN!!! Now I’m stuck with my 2 years subscription… Anyway I think I’m going to test VyprVPN.

Avatar

Tim B. 5/10 January 3, 2018

Captchas everywhere

Pretty solid VPN. Works well, only thing is you have to complete a captcha for any website you go to.

That’s pretty annoying…

Avatar

Zviadi 7/10 January 1, 2018

Decent and affordable

I purchased PureVPN during black friday sale, 69$ for 5 years, which I think, is one of the cheapest rates, I have come across, at least me for me, servers are plenty fast, but there are some disconnects on my phone, not the issue on my computer though. Another disadvantage that is has, is, that when connected to some servers, it has DNS leaks, but it does not on the others, and it uses bunch of virtualized servers, which are not ideal.

If you are looking for serious protection I would not recommend it, but for cheap better than free VPN, PureVPN is not the worst option out there.

Avatar

Mike 9/10 December 31, 2017

cannot compare with others, but works...

I found PureVPN to be very good, and very affordable. I have had the odd issue but nothing major. I have not used any other VPN, so cannot compare it to others, but overall very good and would recommend it.

Avatar

Trevor Spottiswood 4/10 December 29, 2017

Very poor

Have tried this on and off over 6 months. Trying to access even the BBC MEDIA PLAYER from another country is impossible. If the service cannot even enable access to the BBC, then, it is very poor. The helpline has been no help at all.

Avatar

John Rasmussen 6/10 December 23, 2017

Good but issues

Good but always breaking. Service is quite hit and miss.

Had the same problem of bots or poor trained support staff. Pretty sure their call system generates a fake name even for real people.

DNS leaks have got me concerned, seen reports of this everywhere.

Avatar

Alproc 1/10 December 15, 2017

Pure VPN. A Pure Nightmare.

Over two years, never-ending problems. Won’t connect, disconnects sometimes 5 or 6 times an hour, customer service usually a joke Yet they claim to be “reliable and easy to use.” It’s a bald-faced lie. There must be something better.

Avatar

Mark 3/10 November 19, 2017

Cheap, but comes with speed issues

I’ve been using this cheap VPN for months and from what I see it has started to perform very badly. Over the past few months I’ve noticed considerable “lag” when browsing the web. Watching youtube is a pain experience – I’ve tried many different servers but they’re all SLOW!

I think they’re overselling their services and I’m planning to cancel the service.

Avatar

Amir 8/10 June 20, 2017

PureVPN is very good

I must admit buying PureVPN was my first attempt at a VPN. They had a hell of a sale that allowed me to sign up for 3 years easy for a price lower than the 2.95 offered today. I grabbed it immediately and have been happy ever since. There are no issues except the reviewers were right about the slower speed in Asia. I took a trip recently and it was not as fast as I would like. But its still solid and connected just fine.

Avatar

Karol 9/10 June 5, 2017

Many different devices

I truly like PureVPN since for the cheap price you can connect your router which means you can use endless devices with it. In my opinion, they’re not really slow either. I’m located in Poland and my Internet speed is pretty OK – even when connected to PureVPN.

I also like that they have a solid software which doesn’t crash. Before PureVPN I also used Betternet which crashed a lot.

Avatar

Sami 7/10 May 11, 2017

PureVPN seems OK

It bought PureVPN a few months ago and couldn’t use it, it didn’t connect, yes sometimes it connected but disconnected frequently. A week ago I contacted with customer support and got fixed it! I’ve changed DNS servers and they gave me server list. So far so good!

Hope it keeps working fine for a log time! Maybe you need to know about these things before buying PureVPN!

Avatar

Enrique 1/10 April 27, 2017

PureVPN needs to Cure their VPN

Used PureVPN for a month. Cancelled my subscription, uninstalled the product and joined ExpressVPN. ExpressVPN is a bit more expensive, but everything else is better. PureVPN is slow, not user friendly, customer support is unreliable. I think they are using the cheapest servers, therefore the service and connections are utterly slow. Once, I couldn’t connect to a server for a day. – Talk about keeping myself private. 0/10 – Wouldn’t recommend them to my enemy.

Avatar

James 2/10 April 18, 2017

PureVPN

I’d say there’s not much to like about PureVPN other than a HUGE server park. But that doesn’t help it when they’re just slow. I used them for torrenting while back but the DL speeds were just too slow. I’m switching to something else – bye bye PureVPN.