Disclosure: TheBestVPN is reader-supported. When you buy a VPN through links on our site, we may earn commissions. Learn more.

NordVPN Review

Rob Mardisalu

Rob Mardisalu · Read user reviews

NordVPN review
NordVPN is rated 1st out of 78 VPNs on TheBestVPN.com

NordVPN offers a VPN service that allows its users to browse the web anonymously and securely.

Their service is also good for streaming, accessing geo-blocked content and for torrenting/P2P.

Their large server network (5200+ servers) uses OpenVPN protocol and AES 256-bit encryption (with double data protection) which is the industry standard.

In this NordVPN review, I’ll test their server performance, privacy features and customer support while pointing out seven reasons why I recommend using this VPN software instead of a proxy or a free VPN.

NordVPN Overview

OVERALL RANK: #1 out of 78 VPNs
USABILITY: Very Easy To use
LOG FILES: Strict No Logging Policy
LOCATIONS: 60+ countries, 5200+ servers
SUPPORT: Live Chat (24/7)
TORRENTING: P2P & Torrenting Allowed
NETFLIX: Unblocks Netflix USA
ENCRYPTION: OpenVPN, IPSec & IKEv2
JURISDICTION: Panama
COST: $2.99/mo
OFFICIAL WEBSITE: www.NordVPN.com

NordVPN Pros

NordVPN is probably the most popular VPN provider who boldly claims to be The World’s Most Secure VPN.

But I’ve seen those claims before. So I bought NordVPN and decided to put it towards multiple tests. Here are the pros I found…

1. Strong Features & Add-Ons

While being relatively cheap, they do provide some great features including:

  • IP hiding: Yes
  • Netflix access: Yes
  • Torrenting/P2P: Allowed
  • Ad-blocker
  • Access to their DoubleVPN servers which encrypts data twice
  • Servers: 5200+ fast and secure servers in 61 countries
  • Max. simultaneous connections: 6

Not only do they have applications for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Linux, AndroidTV, Chrome & Firefox they have detailed tutorials for protocol connectivity for them and 40 other mobile OS, RaspberryPi’s and routers.

  • Kill Switch: NordVPN software automatically kills your connection if your VPN connectivity is interrupted, blocking your device or terminating certain programs from accessing the internet.
  • DNS Leak Protection: If you have set up your VPN connection manually (say you didn’t want to connect via OpenVPN) or have recently reset your Windows, you’re prone to DNS leaks. These DNS requests will then be completely unprotected. NordVPN have implemented measures to protect you and negate such leaks.
  • Onion Over VPN: For extra protection, or those desiring to visit the dark web (TOR network), NordVPN offers you the ability to route your traffic first through their VPN and then send it to the Onion Router.
  • SmartPlay: SmartPlay technology ensures you can access more than 400 geo-restricted streaming services; Netflix, Amazon Prime, Pandora, BBC, and others. With more and more VPN servers unable to access Netflix, this is a welcome feature.

OpenVPN (among other tunneling protocols)

OpenVPN comes with 256-AES-CBC with a 2048bit Diffie-Hellman key. I generally like to see DH over RSA, due to the former enabling Perfect Forward Secrecy. On iOS and MacOS clients, you’ll be encrypted via an IKEv2/IPsec protocol; AES-256-GCM and a 3072bit DH key,

In short, NordVPN has gone all out on security and has employed above industry standard encryption algorithms.

Double Data Protection

If you opt to turn this feature on, NordVPN’s double encryption will relay your data via not one, but two subsequent VPN servers, before it reaches the web page or application you’re attempting to access. By chaining your connection through two VPN servers, your data gets encrypted twice.

In addition to the double encryption, the second VPN server will be unaware of your original IP address and connections are always made via both UDP and TCP protocols. This is a “one extra step” security feature. The vast majority of you are unlikely to ever require it, especially if you’re using it only for torrenting and Netflix unblocking.

Not to mention the impracticality of the slightly reduced speeds you’re going to incur.

2. Strict No Logging Policy

While some VPN providers keep some logs, NordVPN doesn’t.

On their website, they’ve clearly stated the following:

NordVPN logging policy
Image from: https://nordvpn.com/privacy-policy/

However, they do monitor some lesser important data, such as:

  • Service performance data (for recommending most suitable servers)
  • E-mail address
  • Payment data (but you can also use bitcoins)

That’s the regular stuff that most (if not all) VPN providers are logging and it’s nothing you should be worried about. Especially when NordVPNs payment processor isn’t tied up with their main company.

3. Works Great for Torrenting and Netflix USA

Since NordVPN has a lot of servers they also work well with Torrenting and bypassing geo-restrictions on certain sites like Netflix.

When I tested NordVPN together with Netflix it seemed to work:

Netflix works with NordVPN

I have to admit, not all servers are working with Netflix, because we all know how Netflix tries to crack down certain IPs that belong to VPNs.

But 5 out of 6 should work. Here are my Netflix test results:

NordVPN servers unblocking Netflix:

  • United States (2)
  • United Kingdom
  • Netherlands
  • Canada

NordVPN servers blocked by Netflix:

  • Sweden

You can always get in touch with their customer support who will help you choose the right servers for your streaming.

Moreover, torrenting is safe and fast too.

NordVPN has made special “P2P servers” that are solely meant for keeping your torrenting activities safe and private. You can access the P2P servers via “specialty” servers list on their application.NordVPN for torrenting

4. NordVPN Speed is Stable and Well Above Average

Ah, the meat and bones of any reputable VPN review – independent, meticulous and prolific speed testing.

When I first reviewed their speeds weren’t anything to brag about.

However, when I re-did this speed test in December 2018 I was pleased to see their speeds among the top.

To gauge just how efficient NordVPN is at securing your traffic, I conducted several dozen speed tests from our offices in Europe, connected to the US, UK, EU and Asian servers.

For this speed test, I used 100 Mbps Cable Internet connection with the following benchmark (without VPN):

Speed without VPN

And while the best VPNs managed to achieve download speeds of 70 Mbps+ and up, NordVPN came out with 74.15 Mbps.

NordVPN Speed
US Server
  • Ping: 101ms
  • Download: 56 Mbps
  • Upload: 29 Mbps

On average, pretty good for a six thousand mile journey.

EU Server
  • Ping: 37ms
  • Download: 74 Mbps
  • Upload: 48 Mbps

Decent speeds for EU, too.

Asia Server

  • Ping: 211ms
  • Download: 12 Mbps
  • Upload: 5 Mbps

Not bad for a Europe to Asia connection!

Overall, NordVPN is relatively fast VPN provider.

5. No IP or DNS Leaks Found

Whenever I review VPNs, I always make multiple tests to see if they’re leaking my DNS or IP.

To make these accurate, I set my location to their USA server used 5 different sites for checking DNS leaks:

  • IPLeak.net
  • Perfect-Privacy.com DNS & IP leak test
  • Browserleaks.com for WebRTC leaks
  • IPC.axNordVPN no leaks

Overall, I can be confident that your IP nor DNS will likely never get leaked when using NordVPN.

Furthermore, when I did research on Chrome extension leak test, NordVPN was one of the few that didn’t need to fix it as it wasn’t leaking (read the full case study here).

6. Located in Panama (Safe Jurisdiction, No Data Retention Law)

According to their website (NordVPN.com), NordVPN was launched 2008 in Panama and is operated by Tefincom co S.A.

All top VPNs are located in independent countries that don’t share information on logging (Switzerland, Singapore, Caymans, British Virgin Islands and so on).

NordVPN definitely hides this information well enough. And it’s good for their users, too.

However, when I actually paid for the test account to write this NordVPN review, my payment went to CloudVPN Inc (located in the US). So aren’t they really located in Panama like the claim?

CloudVPN INC. and NordVPN

To find out, I contacted NordVPN directly and here’s what they wrote to me:

“Hi Brad,

First, NordVPN and all the infrastructure we use is being run by Tefincom S.A. and operates under the jurisdiction of Panama.

CloudVPN is used only as a payment collector in order to improve the acceptance rate, as banks are suspicious towards transactions made to Panama and tend to complicate or terminate such payments. It’s a simple and common practice.

Our company has absolutely nothing to do with the service itself in the legal or any other matters.”

To be honest – this makes a lot of sense. They are “officially” based in Panama which helps them to avoid any data retention laws.

7. Knowledgeable Customer Support via Live Chat

NordVPN can be contacted by [email protected] or through live chat.

Even after reviewing over three dozen different VPN providers, hundreds of hours of testing, examining and reviewing, we still have questions or need for technical assistance.

Whether it’s to double check the encryption offered for your router, or a simple troubleshoot on a newly built rig, you will be forced to deal with the customer support of your VPN of choice.

If you’re a newcomer or not technically inclined? You might have some technical questions.

Any VPN worth their salt will have a prolific database of tutorials, how-to guides and informational articles in addition to live chat & quick email support.

Live Chat & Email

NordVPN supportNo different to the best of the best, NordVPN has recently begun offering 24/7 live chat that will assist you with any question you may have. I used their live chat twice, for an encryption question and an open-ended question.

Both times the Customer Support Rep was quick to help, but came with copy & paste answer.

Should you opt to use their email support, for more technical questions or if the live chat agent did not fully resolve your issue, you’ll receive another assistant who will help you with your VPN.

Knowledgebase

Just as important as live assistance for minor questions is the vast directory of support articles you will have access to. For a topic as technical as networking, making it accessible to your everyday layman is no small task.

NordVPN Knowledgebase

After going through their directory and quickly skimming to any support related page I could find, I estimate NordVPN to have well over 500 guides and tutorials.

NordVPN Cons

1. Company Not Transparent Enough

As stated above, upon my investigation, NordVPN seems to be linked with CloudVPN Inc – A company located in the U.S. which is in contradiction of what they state on their website.

But that doesn’t mean they’re not private or actually located in the USA.

They gave me a response, though…

And by thinking twice – it made a lot of sense to me. So I wouldn’t section it to cons, though.

2. Refund Can Take ~30 Days

Although NordVPN offers 30 days money back guarantee, some of the people said that it works but not as fast as they expect it to.

According to them, it can take NordVPN up to 30 days to process your refund. I went into detail and asked the customer support about that, they told me that NordVPN process all refund requests 24 hours. It may take additional 1-7 days for your bank to refund your account, though.

While this isn’t a big issue, it certainly isn’t a very good user experience. Many VPNs provide instant refunds with a max waiting period of 7 days.

However, I wouldn’t refund (nor didn’t) NordVPN, so I doubt you’ll need to use that feature at all.

NordVPN Pricing, Plans & Facts

Trying to forget the above, let’s take a look at how much a subscription to NordVPN will set us back.

How much does it really cost?

Luckily, NordVPN’s pricing is extremely simple and straightforward.

You have 4 different options:

nordvpn pricing 3 year

What’s more, you can buy it anonymously with bitcoin as well as with Credit Card or even AliPay.

Once paid, you can get access immediately and you’re able to download their VPN software.

All those subscriptions come with a one-size-fits-all plan. Including:

  • No logging: Yes.
  • Ease of the VPN software: Signing up and using the app was VERY user-friendly.
  • Hidden fees & clauses: They cannot grant refunds if you purchased an app directly through the iTunes/App Store. Payments made using pre-paid cards or gift cards will not be refunded.
  • Upsells: No upsells.
  • DNS leaks: None.
  • Jurisdiction: Panama
  • Protocols: OpenVPN, IPSec, PPTP & L2TP.
  • Kill-switch: Yes.

Personally, I am all in favor of simplicity and fairness when it comes to pricing. Give me one plan all-inclusive plan and a few payment options and I’m happy. What’s more, they don’t set a bandwidth limit like many free VPNs.

Overall, when signing up for 3-years upfront, NordVPN is the cheapest VPN provider that we’ve reviewed till date.

Do I Recommend NordVPN?

thebestvpn recommendationHands down, I do recommend NordVPN.

It’s secure, safe and fast. It’s packed with top-notch security features plus it doesn’t come with a huge learning curve as some other VPNs like TorGuard or AirVPN.

Their server park is the largest I know of, 5200+ servers in 60+ countries.

The performance is steady and fast, combined with excellent security and ability to block geo-restrictions – they are rated 1st in our list of VPNs.

I strongly recommend NordVPN, especially if you’re looking for a solid VPN and don’t want to spend a fortune.

You can get a NordVPN $2.99 deal from here.

Add your own NordVPN review

To keep up the quality content on our website, we only accept user reviews that provide valuable information for our visitors. Not all reviews will be published. If you want your review to be accepted, please write a helpful, informative and unique review - either positive or negative. Thank you for your support!

captcha

By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

59 user reviews for NordVPN

Stephen Anderson 1/10 February 22, 2019

NordVPN FAILED me

I've been using NordVPN for some months now with little to no problems. Until today. My main use is for P2P (file share) today however NordVPN disconnects (without my knowledge) to update. Meanwhile my File share continues. Then I get notice from my ISP informing me that I have been downloading copyrighted material. If it happens again they will disconnect me. So I while I am emailing NordVPN about the arbitrary disconnect it does it again. Another update and NO it didn’t even reconnect automatically. Something to keep your eye on. I feel as though I have been failed as a customer, They have FAILED me.

Benjamin 9/10 February 20, 2019

Pretty good service

A few years ago I opted on NordVPN. Now I am about to renew after my second year with them, cause I’ve had zero issues, everything is working pretty well for me. NordVPN isn’t the cheapest option, but for me, it’s among the best. And what about the speed? It’s consistent, but there is a minimal lag while switching to a different continent.

Matt 10/10 February 12, 2019

NordVPN + Cybersec

NordVPN should be rated ahead of ExpressVPN due to NordVPN having an ad blocker and malware protection feature called Cybersec. ExpressVPN has no such feature available. Even better is Cybersec is now available for iPhone, it's also available on Android if you sideload it from the Nord site instead of from Google Play.

Charlie S 5/10 February 9, 2019

Slow, buggy on Mac

I've used NordVPN for almost 2 years on my MacBook and iMac and won't renew. Cust. svc. has been responsive, but after many hours and exchanges they can't fix 75% loss of speed (175+Mbps down to 30-40 Mbps) despite numerous changes, manual tweaks, different software (Nord IKE2), etc. It also often fails to make a connection to any server and/or re-connect when my laptop wakes. For me the other advantages of NordVPN do not outweigh these basic defects.

Brandon K 3/10 January 28, 2019

NordVPN is okay - but ineffective

So, I tried NordVPN for one night, to access a couple of free streaming services that were US only. STIRR and Locast are the names of these services.

I've set-up Nord on my laptop and my iPod Touch 5 (and even made a US specific iTunes account so I could download the iOS apps for the two services I mentioned above. I'm Canadian, btw) but ran into several issues that might be either my fault or Nord not corresponding properly with the software of my other apps and stuff on the iPod Touch.

Now once I set-up Nord on my iPod Touch 5, I then logged out of my current iTunes account and made a new US-based account just for the sole purpose of accessing US apps and downloaded the Stirr and Locast apps. I set my NordVPN connection to a US connection (a couple of connections I tried based in New York) and then tried to watch the channels from the supported NYC market.

But had no luck, tried it again a couple more times and at that point I just gave up and stopped trying to fiddle around with things, cancelled my Nord and reverted back to my Canadian account.

I'm not sure if I did anything wrong or if there's something I missed but yeah Nord disappointed me.

Steve 10/10 January 22, 2019

Very happy with NordVPN

Running Linux OpenVPN on my laptop and 2 Android Devices. Google Play recently made them remove the AdBlocker from the Google Play version of their app. After speaking with them and opening a support ticket they advised there was an apk on their website that restored the adblocker. I asked about how to keep updated and was advised to follow the news feed on Google Play. I suggested an in app update feature and 2 days later, this was added to the apk version. Support goes above and beyond to resolve the issue providing you fully explain your issue. I highly recommend this service.

Vlad 3/10 January 16, 2019

Mediocrity is the VPN service

I have yet to find a VPN service that runs above amateur level. Most chat services are supported by individuals who have little technical knowledge and servers that simply don't work especially if you try to run a VPN from a router. Why? Because they don't bother to monitor operational servers. Why? Because they don't have the technical capabilities to run a script across those servers. Have you noticed how most of the companies that advertise VPNs have very similar User Interfaces? Really? Why is that? This whole area is rife with a junior-league smell. Show me one, just one capable, customer oriented VPN provider and I will use their service.

Massimo 9/10 January 15, 2019

Good but missing a fundamental feature

Reading the reviews, I am surprised no one has mentioned the lack of Split Tunneling. In NordVPN. This is important to cast VPN streamed content to your home TVs. Without it, complicated solutions have to be found or just watch that content on your PCs, tablets or phones. Other VPN providers, like ExpressVPN, have it, so in my view this is a major gap folks at NordVPN have to fill.

Dan 8/10 January 13, 2019

Congested

Six months ago I would have given them 100, I stayed on the same server for days. Nowadays I am having to change servers multiple times a day. I used openvpn, the vpn is on my router. Sometimes things will start to get congested within a half hour of getting on the internet. Luckily they do have a place on their website which will show a suggested server near me. It's not that big of a deal, but frustrating when pages don't completely load and etc. As soon as I switch servers, everything is okay again, for whatever amount of time.

Ethan 9/10 January 4, 2019

Favourite provider so far

Costs a bit more, but it is reasonable and worth all additional fonctions as killswitch, cybersec, p2p servers or user-friendly app. I am pretty happy with the software, so it has proved to be a great investment.

ipMAN 9/10 December 28, 2018

AUSTRALIAN sERVER

So far its a good software however when I look at on NordVPN map for Australia the location is always at the middle of Australia where the Pine Gap military base is located. Could it be that the VPN server is based in a USA military base and everything is recorded?

Casa 2/10 December 26, 2018

Slow speed, unreliable connectivity, outdated software

Was a PIA user for 3 years (Excellent), decided to try Nord based on some reviews, sadly the service has been horrible, I truly regret signing up for it. Contacted support multiple times, the best answer has been been try TCP/UDP switching, my internet connectivity is blazing fast and PIA still works amazingly. I tried multiple locations (US, Canada), nothing works well consistently, it's a hit and miss.

I do not recommend NordVPN.

Coran 3/10 December 13, 2018

Not for Linux/Ubuntu

People say it's good, but I can't actually use it on Ubuntu. First the DNS servers wouldn't get setup correctly by their native app. Hours on tech support messing around with system config files. Then the native app won't connect. Keeps trying but never actually succeeds. I tried everything. Rebooting, reinstalling, different protocols, different servers, different internet connections. Nothing. Just hangs trying to connect. Seems their Linux support is still flakey.

Peter M. 10/10 December 4, 2018

Satisfied customer

I'm a satisfied customer at NordVPN, and the only problem I faced was to access Amazon’s web services like the Amazon store. Amazon seems to block most of the NordVPN IP addresses on Amazon’s side. Not a big issue but annoying.

NordVPN offered stealth VPN-Servers too. Maybe this service may help regarding to get easier Amazon access. I didn't try it out.

On IP-level: All services (UDP, TCP ports) are accessible through the NordVPN tunnel. Except few ports like SMPT port 25 and Samba (Windows Share) port 445. If you try to make an simple access on port 445, e.g. telnet on port 445, your account/access will be automatic and fully blocked for 1 minute or so, after this time out you will regain access. Seems to be some security measure.

Chris J 9/10 November 29, 2018

Nearly merits 100 out of 100

Have been using NordVPN for about 3 weeks now across 5 devices. Was very easy to install across 2 iPhones, 1 iPad, 1 Macbook and 1 iMac. According to speedtests I performed there's a considerable loss but in reality its hardly noticeable with no buffering for Netflix or Youtube. Noticed that a few websites weren't accessible with VPN enabled so contacted the support via email. First 2 responses not helpful but then gave me procedure for some manual tweaking and now all works and have set up several profiles so can easily switch between locations depending on requirements. Not convinced however by Brad's opinion re Panama. If the US wants access they'll force the issue by usual bullying. But that applies nearly everywhere. Can only recommend it and won't test the refund option. Not giving 100% as the access to certain sites requires tweaking when this shouldn't be necessary.

Dustin 7/10 November 28, 2018

Slow

Ran side by side comparison with PIA and where PIA only slowed me from 130 to ~120Mbps, Nord VPN slowed me all the way back to the 45-50Mbps range. Tried a couple nearby servers in the northeast, no luck. I'll stick with PIA which is easy to find for the same or lower price with discount.

John Doe 10/10 November 27, 2018

Nord VPN Audit

Been with this VPN for a long time. They just did a audit of their services confirming they do not log anything. They delete all data from the server you use after each session after 15 minutes. They do log how many successful connections you make to there authentication server, but this is not a threat to security.

Lindie 8/10 October 26, 2018

Good - but not always for BBC

Lots of good things about Nord VPN but there is one problem your readers might like to know about. If you're a non-UK resident using it primarily to watch the BBC iPlayer (as I am) it doesn't always work; cue 15-30 mins of watching those annoying pink swirly-gigs before giving up (often on a Friday evening I've noticed). I truly don't know why BBC doesn't allow us to subscribe to their service; would be very happy to pay so that I could get the service whenever I want it. Off to read a book now.

Tony 7/10 October 19, 2018

NordVPN is fair but not great

Pros
GUI is pretty easy and straightforward. Customer support via email is responsive and helpful - a real person.Easy to change/choose servers.

Cons
Disconnections are frequent: I often have to shut it down to connect to a website. I have a client to whom I recommended NordVPN and now regret since I have to help him get around the issues. I have to keep the kill switch off so I can avoid losing the internet connection when I am in production mode.

Andriu 10/10 October 9, 2018

The best VPN for streaming

I tested different VPNs for Netflix, BBC iPlayer and some events streaming. NordVPN provides the best experience, it goes without buffering or IP blocks by Netflix. Also, Nord has the intuitive app on Amazon fire TV stick (so no worries, it's easy to set up and use).

Richard 10/10 October 8, 2018

Best VPN hands down

I started out with the NordVPN app and wanted more. I read online that you can use a router to put your complete home-network behind VPN. So, I bought a cheap ASUS-router, only to find out that I got a huge speed-bump using it. I wrote to NordVPN support and they told me the CPU of the router can't handle high speeds. Bummer. But, NordVPN support also advised me that i could build my own VPN-router using a pc and pfSense. And so i did. Had a few configuration problems, but NordVPN support was very knowledgeable and willing to help every single time. My VPN-router works flawlessly for almost a year now without any hickups. Kudo's for NordVPN support!

Tony 10/10 September 27, 2018

Customer Support

I'm a first-time VPN user, therefore first-time NordVPN user. I had several questions answered quite quickly via chat - all satisfactorily. If not for the comment above, I would not have been able to tell the answers were cut/paste. Only gave it 99 because, well, I think no one/thing is perfect and we can all improve.

Kattz 9/10 September 21, 2018

Nord and Amazon

In general, I am very happy with this VPN. It has worked almost flawlessly except when trying to connect to Amazon. I'm not trying to watch Prime Video from outside my country. I'm Canadian and I can't even shop on Amazon anymore. I usually have access to both the Canadian and US sites but not anymore. It's not easy to just shut down the VPN either since I have it installed on my router. I guess nothing is perfect.

Thomas 9/10 September 9, 2018

Amazon & IMDB almost impossible to access

NordVPN works fine for me -- easy to setup and use -- EXCEPT when trying to access Amazon or IMDB (which is owned by Amazon). These sites are almost impossible to access with NordVPN. My Firefox "times out" trying to access them.

I must then turn off the VPN before accessing Amazon or IMDB. After I turn off the VPN, access is easy.

This is true even when I'm in the U.S. and use a U.S. IP.

Sidney Goldstein 5/10 August 29, 2018

Used to receive good tech support

Nordvpn used to give great tech support and customer service. That's why I stayed with them past the free trial. For the last 3-4 months the tech support is not there. One tech rep even told me to go elsewhere and did not even try to resolve a problem. Many of the tech's when I called about this problem did not seem capable to understand the problem. When I reported this 'outrageous' behavior to the customer service people, there was no response. I wonder if the company has been sold.

Robert 8/10 August 16, 2018

Good but no linux kill switch

Linux support is a little sketchy, when using the graphical interface to configure, you are limited to UDP, no IP. This may be a Linux issue, I'm not sure. You can do IP via the command line.. more importantly, because it uses openvpn it does not offer any kill switch capability, which could lead to you getting busted for torrenting. Fortunately, after a little bit of Googling I was able to create some shell Scripts that tweaked the firewall rules so that only tunneled traffic is allowed. That way if the connection to the VPN is lost, all internet connectivity ceases, preventing your identity from being revealed.

Meanwhile, it's plenty fast and I have it enabled by default all the time because there doesn't seem to be any performance penalty for me.

Mike 10/10 July 19, 2018

I'm happy from the service

I really like Nord. Tried them after I gave up on a few free services. Got a coupon down at vpnmentor and it was worth every dollar I spent on it.
The app for my iphone is easy to use and I stream netflix from my desktop here and there (can’t say I find a lot more in the US that I don’t have regularly)

Andy 10/10 July 3, 2018

Satisfied

Took this article advice and bought a two-year subscription. As for now, I’m pleased with the provider.

Works excellent both on my Macbook and iPhone, and still have room for four more devices 🙂

Grady Porter 10/10 July 2, 2018

a service you can trust

The fact that nordVPN is based in Panama is one of the main reasons why I’m using it – full privacy.

And it’s good to know that your traffic is being encrypted not once, but twice. Can’t find a better deal than that…

Steve 6/10 June 29, 2018

Not For Me

I took the free trial but deleted before it had concluded. I had major problems with Amazon, and logging into the UK site via Canada just isn’t right. Tried other VPNs and they were fine so it is a NordVPN problem. Secondly tried to stream a video from Australia to the UK and it was just unusable. Again not a problem for others. Depends what you want a VPN for but for me, the two things I wanted were just a major problem so no thanks.

Tim 9/10 June 29, 2018

Better than expected

I was actually the skeptic one when it came to VPNs, imagined a VPN would somehow create problems on my iPhone and be overall slow. I can say now I was quite wrong and also after a chat I had with customer support, I thought this one deserves positive feedback on my part. To make things short, the main reason I wanted a VPN was to be able to watch my favourite series on Netflix while travelling (and I travel a lot, both thanks to and hate to my job). NordVPN is perfect for that and what I also really liked is that the speeds are just about casual and also that I get to watch ads in different language and manner.
One tiny annoying thing is that the servers are only divided by country but not the city.

dave 4/10 May 23, 2018

Not working in UAE

I bought NordVPN to overcome the SKYPE blocking here in the UAE. I downloaded the program, and could never get a connection on skype here, and was unable to do anything on the internet at all. NordVPN sent me a rather lengthy support document, and I literally spent a few months trying to get it to work. Finally I gave up, installed a competitor’s VPN and instantly had crystal-clear SKYPE connections. NordVPN may be a great platform elsewhere in the world, but for the UAE, it is totally ineffective.

Steven 10/10 May 22, 2018

Happy days

My primary concern when purchasing VPN was speed. As I heard many VPNs suffer from a speed drops, but being Nordvpn user, I honestly don’t see what people are complaining about? Of course, you might get around 5% decrease in speed, but look at a bright side you can overcome speed throttling which is frustrating when trying to stream something online

Maria Carmen 9/10 May 22, 2018

some cons are almost pros

Thanks for the review Brad. I don’t know about you guys but I see the con of nordvpn company being “hidden” not like a con but like a pro more. It makes me believe in their ability to hide and deal with it (that is what I actually want from a VPN generally).

Kathy 3/10 May 16, 2018

Nothing but trouble with internet since I got NordVPN

Still having trouble with internet since I got NordVPN. I suspect it is incompatible with Comcast as all devices that had Nord installed lost internet at home other than google sites and Yahoo. Today I tried using NordVPN on my iphone in a coffee shop but it would not connect and I lost internet in the process. Went to work and still no internet on my phone. I made sure NordVPN was not trying to connect by quitting the app (it was trying to connect). Still no internet. I completely erased the app from my phone and then got instant internet connection. So just having the app installed seems to be problematic. It must be trying to do something even when you tell it to stop. We have Comcast at work too. We’re looking into solving the problem with Comcast by reconfiguring the networks but it shouldn’t be this hard. Also, because I use the internet all day long in my job, I found my self having to turn off Nord too many times during the day because there were too many sites I could not access.

Drake Norman 10/10 May 8, 2018

Best Choice

I don’t mind spending some money just to add more privacy and protection to my daily life especially when it’s affordable, and you don’t have to pay a fortune.

After all, many things we do like paying bills, purchasing, sending valuable data Internet is involved. NordVPN is helping me a lot just adding this extra layer of security and privacy.

I don’t have to be paranoidly connecting to Wi-Fi in a coffee shop. Recommended 🙂

Tom 10/10 April 30, 2018

It suits my needs

Got concerned about surfing privacy after watching some YouTube videos. Since I’m a student and freelancing marketer, have to work at coffee shops with public network few times a week, I found NordVPN useful and feel much more safe in terms of hackers when doing such things like payments via online banking.

Vinnie Cervantes 10/10 April 13, 2018

Thanks to their support

I’m definitely not technically inclined but their support helped me out a lot.

They were fun and easy to talk to and were able to catch up quickly to my level of knowledge. I’m glad I did not have to waste my time neither with them nor with device set up. Now it works great. Quick connect option is a true savior.

Jake 5/10 April 9, 2018

Refund took over 30 days

The service itself is fine.

However, cancelling it is a different story. They kept charging me for months when I already cancelled my subscription. Every month I had to contact them again for a refund, which took more than 30 days. The service was really bad and they only solved the problem (they did not finish my cancellation in full in their system) after four months. All I got was a headache, and we are sorry for the inconvenience. Not recommedable if you want to cancel at some point in the future.

Dennis 10/10 April 5, 2018

Good choice

Been searching for VPN that allows access to Netflix and Hulu and found NordVPN. Speed is great for streaming videos and torrenting. Nice choice for people with similar needs.

Sheldon Fletcher 10/10 April 3, 2018

Great for iOS

I’m using NordVPN on my iPhone and iPad while traveling and it works like a charm. Solved my issues with banking and some other websites access that was limited to my state. Speed varies server from server but haven’t experienced a big loss so far. I’m going to test it out on my Mac once I get back home later this month.

SiriusMac 5/10 April 2, 2018

Slightly slow servers

They have great pricing, but unfortunately it’s the case of you get what you pay for.

I was really not happy with the speed of the service. I have 400mb down and 40mb up. I literally saw a reduction in speed by 70%. I worked with them on this as well thinking they could do something, but nothing.

I then tried ExpressVPN and the difference was night and day! Perhaps this because they have servers closer to me, but NordVPN while I think it’s a good service, just didn’t cut it for me when it came the speed. I don’t pay for ultra-fast internet only tend up with 30% of the speed because of the VPN. I can live with a 25 to 30% cut which is what I get with ExpressVPN. The review says speeds have improved. My gosh I wouldn’t have wanted to use it before that then. I do like that they give 6 simultaneously connections and as I said the price is great.

Yvan R 9/10 March 30, 2018

Excellent

Easy to install and to operate, fast, nice UI. Strange behavior with Chrome : some adds (in Washington Post for example) seem to be in a Scandinavian language! I don’t mind though. From time to time, I’m connected to a USA server instead of to a Canadian one. Not a practical problem either.

To summarize: I love NordVPN very much and feel safe.

Ernie 10/10 March 29, 2018

Good for work

It is indeed a wonderful choice especially for business (that’s what got me to buy a VPN in the first place). We have few accounts with them (we needed few separate dedicated IPs) and if any of us run into any issue we can contact their support anytime. Thankfully, we did not have any major issues with this one so it makes me feel secure.

Spencer 9/10 March 20, 2018

Great service

Works like a dream on all my devices and the only problem (with SMTP) was solved in 5 minutes by their live support agent.

Gabriel P. 10/10 March 13, 2018

Speedy and easy

Have been using NordVPN for almost a year now. No problems with installation, customer service available 24/7 if you have any questions. Service connects quickly and is trustworthy.

No noticeable speed drop when connected to VPN especially after changing my antivirus which I had no clue was affecting the speed so much but it was the very first thing that their support advised me to check when I complained about unstable speeds.

Tom Peterson 5/10 March 2, 2018

NordVPN tracks you with 4 separate analytics engines via website

I read some great reviews about NordVPN and decided to sign up. My confidence dropped immediately after installation, and I’m disappointed to find out the app has 3 tracking platforms built right in.

The reason I purchased NordVPN service / software was to keep Google from tracking everything I do. I have an android device. I have Google Fiber for Internet access. I have Google email at home and work. I have Google Voice for voicemail, Google contacts and Google messages for texts. I have Google sheets and Google docs.

Google knows every word I type, everywhere I browse. I don’t want an advertising company creating a database on me to sell me products. I downloaded the app directly from NordVPN to avoid the play store version.

They also have Google in app billing and Google licensing built in to the app.

There’s no need to have 3 different analytic engines to gather information run VPN servers. It’s very disappointing it after spending $79 to start getting away from Google.

Will 10/10 February 20, 2018

great for additional security

I won’t lie – I tried it first because I liked the logo, and I liked the name.

Once I did, I knew that it had more to offer than style though: speeds were great, I was able to unlock lots of streaming content, it offers a system wide and app wide kill switches, it has browser extensions, it had cyber-sec feature… All of which makes me think this is really best VPN out there at the moment.

David 10/10 February 15, 2018

Nice for the price

I subscribed to NordVPN during Black Friday/Cyber Monday, they were doing a $99 for 3 years offer.

What convinced me was that I was able to try them for free for 3 days (not available any more) and very, very importantly for me they offer SOCKS 5 proxies : almost all their servers, it seems, can be used via SOCKS 5 (use their server selection tool there https://nordvpn.com/servers/#recommended and use port 1080 for SOCKS5). Meaning I can connect several programs, on my computer, to different VPNs at the same time. Or also I can very easily rotate my proxies in Firefox (using FoxyProxy) without messing up my whole connection at the OS level.

The subscription comes with 6 connection slots, which is nice if you want to use a bunch of different IPs at the same time. Or if you have many devices. Just make sure you don’t over-connect, as it will randomly kick you out then.

The speed is decent, although not huge (depending on server load, I can get anywhere between 15 Mbps to 40 Mbps up and down, approximately, which is way below my fiber speed). But it’s fine for the price, and as my main use is SOCKS5 per program, it’s not really limiting.

My only criticism would be the reliability of the connection. It seems that micro-cuts are fairly common, meaning I can’t download big files that take more than +/- a couple of hours to download if the transfer software involved don’t support resuming. It’s not an issue for any other use case, though (like online gaming, browsing, etc)

My rating would be 8/10 for the small connection drops and the time it takes to connect in OpenVPN mode, but the SOCKS proxies are so important to me and super rare that I boosted the rating a bit.

Dan 8/10 January 23, 2018

Fast, reliable, but no Hulu streaming

The primary purpose for trying out NordVPN was to access video sites not available outside the US, which is one of the selling points of NordVPN. First off, it was very easy to download their PC app as well as ios app and connection were likewise very easy. Once connected, the speeds were comparable to the speed of the originating ISP and the service seemed solid.

However, despite repeated tries, tweaking the settings, and clearing the cache, I was unable to connect to Hulu or YouTube TV (subscription streaming service) from Mexico. I did a live chat with a NordVPN customer support rep (who told me they do not condone illegal activities such as accessing websites or streaming services from outside the originating country … really???). And even after changing settings and doing everything they suggested, neither Hulu nor YouTube TV would work.

The pay TV services in the US have understandably come under fire from content providers in the past couple of years, and they have become very good at blocking content to VPNs. If you’re looking for a good VPN simply to provided a layer of security, this would be a good company to go with. But if you’re looking for it to mask your location for streaming services, it will be a real challenge (and I imagine that is true for other VPNs as well).

Miguel 10/10 December 29, 2017

Very satisfied with NordVPN

I’ve been using NordVPN for the last few months, and I am satisfied with their product. I am currently on a 2-year plan, and I paid only $80 for this plan as part of a promotional discount. It has a lot of features that I find to be really convenient like the kill-switch and all the different options for servers.

Admittedly, I don’t really use some of their services, like the “Double VPN”, or “Onion through VPN”. It is nice to have these options, however, should the need arise. I’m always able to connect to a server, and I’m never disconnected from it. Connecting to NordVPN servers doesn’t slow down my internet connection at all, which is a major plus. Overall, I am very impressed with the price and services that NordVPN offers and would highly recommend it to people looking to purchase a VPN subscription.

Ariel 10/10 November 8, 2017

#1 VPN in the market

If it’s your first VPN you could find some things you don’t like but if you try several different and then come up to NordVPN then you understand there is nothing to complain.

NordVPN is first in the market. IMHO like the biggest advantages, I could mention tons of servers, Netflix, P2P etc..

FluffyQuack 4/10 October 29, 2017

Bad customer treatment

They offer a short, free trial, but this is hidden in their support pages and you’ll never find it unless you dig for it or someone else links you to it.

The purchase page repeatedly reminds you of their 30-day money back guarantee, but there are zero mentions how to request one (there are also literally zero mentions of this in the customer account pages). It works by contacting support, and then it’s up to them if they actually want to honor it.

Aaron 10/10 October 14, 2017

My experience with NordVPN

There’s nothing like NordVPN! They keep everything in order and easy to use for anyone who is a beginner or someone that is advanced with technology! I believe everyone should give it a try as it is really useful to me when I want to be secured.

Great service, when I first got NordVPN I was new to VPN so I contacted them and they gave me all the information I needed to get started. It was not overpriced and it even had a sale, bargain! as well as there is a 30 day limit to if you want to refund if it was not good enough for you, but I believe it will be good for you, whatever you use, from a PC to a mobile device.

I love this VPN as its easy to use and I don’t have to worry about the tech side of it all. What I hate is, that it seems too simple but that isn’t an issue, that’s just my opinion.

List4meThin 10/10 September 27, 2017

Flawless service

I’m for a few months with them, actually planned to get refunded after vacation, but decided to leave it because it works flawlessly.

Might be speed issues depends on many factors but I’m getting near the same speed as my ISP provides and it doesn’t matter I’m using US or Europe servers. Haven’t tried Asian or Pacific.

Chauncey 9/10 September 27, 2017

Great VPN

NordVPN is very good service for all online activities, I’m using it for torrenting (their P2p servers are really fast), for accessing streaming services like HBO, US Netflix and of course for hiding my activities from government and ISP.

So far hadn’t got any problems and it is cheap enough comparing with features you are covered. The most important thing they don’t keep any logs!

Ankit Sharma 10/10 June 11, 2017

many servers and options

I’ve been using NordVPN for a while now to keep my phone connection safe and private. The ping speeds are okay for a VPN service and they offer many options for servers.

This becomes handy when you need to access sites that have been blocked by some government.

Matt 10/10 May 11, 2017

for travelling

I’m using NordVPN whenever I’m traveling to access Netflix. I think spending few dollars a month for a tool that allows you to get access to certain websites + keep your computer safer is a no-brainer really.

I’ve been a NordVPN customer for 24 months now. Solid product, nothing to complain about.

Sariel 10/10 April 27, 2017

Can't go wrong with NordVPN

NordVPN is such a great provider for the money they sell their service for. I think they’re really cost-efficient, fast and secure. I have a group of friends, experts in the CyberSec area and they all recommend either PIA or Nord.

It’s easy for a first timer and keeps your stuff private. I had a hard time reaching them on live chat, but they told me that they’ve had a particularly busy time that day. After that, I haven’t had any problems with them. I recommend